YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

+0.05 (1.37%)

3.60 - 3.72

46 people like this.

32,193 comment(s). Last comment by facsc118 1 minute ago

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-20 23:09 | Report Abuse

3rd Quarter Report on Wednesday 24 May. By the way, YTP Power didn't do too badly last Friday. Many other counters dropped quite a few sen but YTLP limited it to only 1 sen. Hopefully the heavy selling is over.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-20 23:15 | Report Abuse

gijoe - Thanks for putting this opinion here.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-20 23:26 | Report Abuse

joseph2321 - As Namoyaki said, YTL Power is not for short-term traders... *usually*. However, one can also get lucky - especially at this price. Right now it's all a question of the big seller (YTL Corp?) - if it has finished unloading, there's a great chance of YTLP going up. This is the main reason why the price has come down so far.

What can you fault with this company?...it is a defensive stock (utility) that gives quarterly dividends. At this current price, the yield is around 8%, which attracts fund managers.

Posted by Solihin Bong > 2012-05-21 10:58 | Report Abuse

Ada sape tau tentang Ytl-wb..

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-21 16:00 | Report Abuse

Doing well today - up 5 sen with reasonable high volume. Is this an indication that the heavy selling is over? Or some insider trading ahead of the 3rd Quarter report?

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-21 16:59 | Report Abuse

I have a question mat, how do you know quarter report will out on Wednesday?

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-21 17:04 | Report Abuse

From CIMB Investment Bank's monthly calendar that comes with their daily market report.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-21 17:05 | Report Abuse

ic, any idea to get it other than cimb? im using osk...

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-21 17:05 | Report Abuse

Today naik 7 cents & son CF by 2 cents...more to come before 3rd quarter report of 2011.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-21 17:46 | Report Abuse

Actually I'm with Affin, which also issues daily reports> But it is not as comprehensive as CIMB's. I get the latter's reports from a friend who forwards them to me every day:-)

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-21 17:54 | Report Abuse

bro Mat Cendana, may i have yr e-mail please. thanks in advance.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-21 18:29 | Report Abuse

cendana287@gmail.com

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2012-05-21 18:33 | Report Abuse

bro cendana, can I have save your email too? thanks

Adam Ryan

470 posts

Posted by Adam Ryan > 2012-05-21 18:40 | Report Abuse

Namoyaki Takarajima: Can I have urs?

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-21 18:53 | Report Abuse

Hi brother Adam, long time no see & how's life in Singapore? ....presume must be wonderful there with all the young & pretty sweet amoys, hee, hee,hee.

Kent Lee

211 posts

Posted by Kent Lee > 2012-05-21 19:01 | Report Abuse

hello adam ryan..... still around ? thot moved to Singapore for good.... haha

Adam Ryan

470 posts

Posted by Adam Ryan > 2012-05-21 19:27 | Report Abuse

Kent Lee: Yes, y i can't visit here anymore ah? haha

Adam Ryan

470 posts

Posted by Adam Ryan > 2012-05-21 19:29 | Report Abuse

Chong: Hello Bro Chong, Yes Long time didn't visit this site! Busy lit bit. Bro Chong Have u apply Gas Malaysia? What is opinion? I just waiting for analyst FV! Wait and see! Hihi

simonfish

53 posts

Posted by simonfish > 2012-05-21 19:44 | Report Abuse

dear Adam, Chong does not want tot chat this forum anymore, pls assist us.

Thanks

Adam Ryan

470 posts

Posted by Adam Ryan > 2012-05-21 20:29 | Report Abuse

simonfish: U visit his forum la better if u want good tips from him!

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-21 23:19 | Report Abuse

jester - Yes, of course. Nowadays no need to buy a stamp to send messages:-)

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-21 23:33 | Report Abuse

The lau sai had stopped....doctor did give YTLPower some good medicine, hee, hee, hee.

Today we should see it go higher than yesterday? Waiting for the quarter report in a few days time & the dividend to go with it as well.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-22 00:10 | Report Abuse

The RSI has gone above 30 for the first time in over a month. Now we're starting to see an indication of the "Power" as in its name. Its movements today will definitely attract even more attention tomorrow, especially in the way it steadily added the 7 sen.

Its quarter report - The power-generating business should bring about the same more or less. But it's YES that will be of interest - a smaller loss as compared to the previous quarter will significantly improve its standing among investors and fund managers. This will get better when revenue from the `1Bestarinet contract starts to kick in.

YES will have to do better in getting new subscribers though. I would like to use it since I'm also THE OWNER of YTL Power (albeit a few lots Heheh!). But P1 offers more bang for the buck right now - offer better packages or at least match P1 and this loss-making division will turn into a real asset.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-22 07:13 | Report Abuse

They are doing well DOW+1.1% Nasdaq a positive figure, guess at least YTLP wont drop for today...

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-22 09:37 | Report Abuse

Good Offer today. Lowest YTD. RSI 30%+ Wanna wait any longer? :)

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-22 09:39 | Report Abuse

Hi there Adam Ryan, glad to have you to be back here. Busy day huh? or busy collecting profit sudah masak ranum? hehehe..

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-22 11:30 | Report Abuse

Still a good offer! YTD Lowest was at 1.59 today. RSI 30%+, Stoch OK.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-22 17:10 | Report Abuse

Today a good show....more to come tomorrow.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-22 19:08 | Report Abuse

Quarter reeport released, dropping in Profit.... Damn yes...

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-23 00:25 | Report Abuse

Nine-month net profit 822.828 million (decreased 5.21%) ...dividend given is Third Interim Tax Exempt Dividend 1.875% or 0.9375 Sen ...same as before.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-23 01:16 | Report Abuse

Apparently, the drop didn't have too much effect on buyers yesterday. I think the recent drop in its price has made it too hard too resist. After all, its operations are essential the same and in sound condition. So, a 5.21% drop is tolerable. Investors understand that the company has to make heavy expenditure for YES before it can become profitable.

Anyway, if it drops a bit today, that might not be a bad thing. It will persuade some into buying at a small discount and help build a new price level to move upwards.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-25 16:44 | Report Abuse

wah coming up liao...

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-25 17:16 | Report Abuse

Yup, it's now retracing the slide of the past 2 months or so. Things look promising. The 1Bestarinet contract is crucial in helping the YES network. And its power-generating business is doing well enough despite registering less profit in the last quarter. This is a solid counter - the previous problem was with YTL Corp selling down its stake.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-25 17:18 | Report Abuse

Good show today, more to come.

gijoe

37 posts

Posted by gijoe > 2012-05-25 20:46 | Report Abuse

Ned patience for this counter... Look like epf accumulating this counter again

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-28 22:39 | Report Abuse

EPF has been accumulating it since some weeks ago and it would have gone much higher than this. Unfortunately, the major shareholders had been selling rather heavily, resulting in the slide. This appears to have ended; hence, the good showing since last week. I'd say today's small drop is good - consolidating the gains before making another upward movement.

Anyway, this is the kind of stock that institutional buyers would hold. Until just a few weeks ago, plantation stocks were the flavour of the year with every analyst and his grandmother extolling them as having "strong defensive power and high yield". Well, the sharp drop in CPO prices has resulted in them changing their line. Now the previous darlings like SOP etc. are being slowly abandoned. Investors have to put their money elsewhere and the flavour is changing to utilities and telecommunications. YTL Power should benefit from this trend in the next few weeks.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-28 23:13 | Report Abuse

i hope you are right, 30% of my money in ytlp, 50% in telecommunication shares....

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-29 17:55 | Report Abuse

It has recovered Monday's drop at the end of today's session. To tell you the truth, I was also hoping it would dip just a little bit more so that I could buy a few more lots:-) And I know there are many waiting for such an opportunity. Right now, YTLP is rather well-supported. If Europe doesn't spook the market again like two weeks ago, it should inch up further.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-30 12:55 | Report Abuse

I have the opposite view, i hope it up to rm1.80 as soon as possible. Need to clear this counter before Election... Many signs of election to be announced soon...

Posted by amsharazzi > 2012-05-31 11:20 | Report Abuse

theews82... if i may, i think GE will be after Sept. This is becoz PM just announced that he will be presenting the budget 2013 scheduled on 28/09 (being brought fwd from normally in Oct). So, market not so 'panicking' on GE around the corner... Still good 4 trading until 3Q 12.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-06-01 11:35 | Report Abuse

i wish you are right, YTLP is linked to goverment. Been stucked at here for quite a long time...

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-06-01 11:47 | Report Abuse

Bro, YTL sama macam DRDHCOM lah. YTL jaga TENAGA (TNB), DRBHCOM jaga PROTON. YTL & DRBHCOM analogy; Jadi, Kalau TENAGA naik YTL ikut lah, kadang-kadang YTL push TENAGA. Same goes to DRBHCOM c/w PROTON.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-06-10 15:46 | Report Abuse

the only doubt for me is Ytl take over ytlp. i never worry bout its performance. I know yes is gonna make profit soon, everything will be ok in the coming 1 or 2 yrs... Lets pray its not gonna taken over by YTL, or else..... DIE

Posted by amsharazzi > 2012-06-12 18:08 | Report Abuse

Agree with you guys... However, if i may suggest= instead of still depending investment in YTLP, why not go in YTL immediately instead? TA signal showing strong support, plus its the 'mother' counter if 'taking over' does occur. YES will still be its essential assets next year...

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-06-15 11:39 | Report Abuse

Steady, steady... Looks like YTLP is clawing its way up again. Is this an indication the `leceh' days of sub-1.60 are over?

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-06-15 11:40 | Report Abuse

amshatazzi: With YTL itself, personally I feel like having missed the bus already and am not keen to chase. It was a good buy at below 1.80 but now... I don't know.

Posted by amsharazzi > 2012-06-15 12:18 | Report Abuse

MC... Agree with U, but base on my FA&TA I believe it could 'climb' up to 2.2 next month looking @ the support level & vol 4 dis counter... Lets c what next week will bring k. Tyvm 4 sharing bro!

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-06-15 15:40 | Report Abuse

ejtic, define institutional investor and who are those buyers. thnks in advance bro.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-06-15 17:05 | Report Abuse

anyone knows what boosted today's most shres performnce? could it be good news frm greek on the Election?

gijoe

37 posts

Posted by gijoe > 2012-06-15 20:10 | Report Abuse

Could it be a window dressing month, fund manager may want to make their fund look good.. But do hope something coming for this counter :)  as ytl and stareit has gone up.