YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

+0.09 (2.89%)

3.13 - 3.24

48 people like this.

32,989 comment(s). Last comment by Ravi1969 6 hours ago

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-14 15:16 | Report Abuse

buy now as it's the cheapest price for the year.

tansrihew

191 posts

Posted by tansrihew > 2012-05-14 15:22 | Report Abuse

bro chong: better to buy warrant or mother share? warrant looks attractive

jacklew

499 posts

Posted by jacklew > 2012-05-14 15:34 | Report Abuse

looks like it will go south further as Tan Sri keep disposing its share...

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-14 15:49 | Report Abuse

Brother tansrihew , buy warrant as it's the cheapest at 3.5 cents & you still got 8+ months to hold & play.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-14 15:50 | Report Abuse

Brother jacklew boss YTL disposed off but EPF buys, hee, hee,,hee

tansrihew

191 posts

Posted by tansrihew > 2012-05-14 15:52 | Report Abuse

bro chong: I am thinking of YTLPower-WB at $0.41. Whats your opinion?

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-14 16:03 | Report Abuse

YTLPower WB is still good...pick it up then..got a long way to go.

jacklew

499 posts

Posted by jacklew > 2012-05-14 16:24 | Report Abuse

1.58 now...

Jester

852 posts

Posted by Jester > 2012-05-14 16:28 | Report Abuse

to what extent will the price fall?

jacklew

499 posts

Posted by jacklew > 2012-05-14 16:29 | Report Abuse

good question, but i think nobody know....if you think it is a good fundamental counter, that's the right price to go in now, as it is in its historical LOW.

Jester

852 posts

Posted by Jester > 2012-05-14 16:44 | Report Abuse

hehe.. but I'm wondering why the boss keep disposing it..

Yuzuki

1,437 posts

Posted by Yuzuki > 2012-05-14 16:47 | Report Abuse

hehe probably francis is a man united supporter lol

Gijoe

37 posts

Posted by Gijoe > 2012-05-14 21:11 | Report Abuse

Why boss keep disposing the ytlpwb, funny..

Gijoe

37 posts

Posted by Gijoe > 2012-05-14 21:30 | Report Abuse

Spend a lot to share buy back YTL, next week probably publish the quarterly report, first one after privatise cement.. Good or no good, see next week

Posted by 8082 > 2012-05-14 23:00 | Report Abuse

各位专家,小弟刚刚才学会买股票当时买的时候是1.90现在已经跌到1.58请问应该继续还是放弃呢?想听听大家的意见。谢谢!

Posted by indramian > 2012-05-14 23:05 | Report Abuse

keep and hold....oversold wait for rebound,

Gijoe

37 posts

Posted by Gijoe > 2012-05-14 23:08 | Report Abuse

ytlp is a cash rich company, cash is king, wonder how low the share price can go !!!

nicsky

35 posts

Posted by nicsky > 2012-05-15 00:24 | Report Abuse

I should consider to buy ytlpower mother or ytlpower-wb?

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-15 07:12 | Report Abuse

Already down to the bottom & is it time for all to pick up some?

Anyone want to take a shot at YTLPower & son CF? ...or preferable son WB

Take a look at this recent analyst report....

YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

By Affin Investment Bank

Buy (maintained)

Target price: RM2.45

WE continue to like this stock for its disciplined management stewardship, geographical diversity, sizeable war chest for opportunistic acquisitions and attractive valuation vis-vis historical average range.

Moving forward, we see the following emerging catalysts: concession-like contract win may propel the 60%-owned YTL Communica-tions into a growth stage and new plant-up cycle in Malaysia will provide growth opportunities for the group.

We maintain a “buy” with an unchanged target price of RM2.45, which implied 15 times calendar year 2012 earnings per share (EPS).

Growth opportunities, especially in the power sector, will likely be focused on.

The group's partnership with Marubeni could provide an avenue to grow generation capacity in Asia.

We believe the stock trades at a deep discount to its asset value. Based on current market capitalisation of RM13.2bil, we estimate the group's effective 4,556 MW power assets (in Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia) is priced at 4.5 times its earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation.

Separately, recent meetings continue to depict a strong PowerSeraya entity with a generation market share of 27% in Singapore.

We see growth opportunities for the group to participate in Peninsular Malaysia's next 4,500 MW plant up-cycle.

There also may be room to extend the tenure of the group's 1,212 MW Paka and Pasir Gudang power plants.

Our channel checks suggested three sites have been allocated for new combined cycle gas power plants.

The sites allocated potentially for a three times 700 MW gas-fired power plant are Prai, Pasir Gudang and Connaught Bridge, Klang.

We see strong competition from YTL Power's peers and would not be too surprise if YTL Power does not emerge a winner in this first round as a 7% to 8% project internal rate of return is seen as less attractive compared with other merger and acquisition opportunities.

However, we do believe that YTL Power will vie for the Pasir Gudang tender given the possibilities of shared infrastructure with its existing power plant on site.

Cheers to all & good luck too.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-15 08:56 | Report Abuse

It's down trend man, I have already top up some and look forward to buy again when it reaches Rm1.40 or below....

gijoe

37 posts

Posted by gijoe > 2012-05-15 13:42 | Report Abuse

when it reach that price, look like the ytlpwb wil be attractive...

cheese

77 posts

Posted by cheese > 2012-05-15 13:44 | Report Abuse

YTL Power, a good dividend counter but in fact a sleep mode counter. When market bad, good to buy

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-15 15:21 | Report Abuse

It's coming too I presume!!

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-15 15:27 | Report Abuse

:( stoc: overbought. downtrend. but got vol. sedih.

Mat Cendana

2,337 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-16 07:31 | Report Abuse

For the first time in a few weeks, YTL Power closed strongly positive yesterday afternoon. It has gone down so much and should retrace some of its losses.

Posted by Ameer Khan > 2012-05-16 07:57 | Report Abuse

BRO..chong...i take ytl-wb at 0.39...what is the good price to sell..and when i should be...tq very much for ur help..

Kl Vin

1,547 posts

Posted by Kl Vin > 2012-05-16 08:19 | Report Abuse

TP : RM0.60 for -WB !!

Posted by Solihin Bong > 2012-05-16 09:17 | Report Abuse

aa.ar you cornfirm tp rm0.60 for-wb..

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-16 11:22 | Report Abuse

Today lau sai again, OMG.....better ask YTL to put a cork stopper nicely in the right place, hee, hee, hee.

Posted by Kelly Jong > 2012-05-16 11:42 | Report Abuse

Any bad news? Why slided deeply?

Kl Vin

1,547 posts

Posted by Kl Vin > 2012-05-16 11:53 | Report Abuse

MARKET DROP 15 point !!
YTLPOWER IS BLUE CHIP..SURE WILL EFFECT ~~~
IF HOLD FOR LONG TERM IS NO PROBLEM ~~~ ONLY KILL CONTRA GUY ~!!!
I SUGGEST -WB RATHER THAN MUM !!
IF THE MUM STAND AT RM1.70 .. THE -WB should be at RM0.50++

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-16 12:02 | Report Abuse

Dont hope for a rebound, its going to down more unless it closes above Rm1.76... otherwise Rm1.40 or below will be my top up price...

Kl Vin

1,547 posts

Posted by Kl Vin > 2012-05-16 12:13 | Report Abuse

HEhe..RM1.55 got supported...let see how....

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-16 17:09 | Report Abuse

support? lol...

Jake

493 posts

Posted by Jake > 2012-05-17 00:54 | Report Abuse

Start loading up folks...this correction will not last..

Posted by zilentaken > 2012-05-17 00:55 | Report Abuse

Blue chip share, shd be able to hold for long. Same to me, RM 1.40 will be top up price.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-17 01:27 | Report Abuse

Yes, brother zilentaken , this is a solid counter...make plenty of money & loaded too. Should continue to buy like I did at yesterday's cheap sale.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-17 01:50 | Report Abuse

3rd quarter Report will come out in about 2 weeks time & a 3rd dividend will be given as well. As always YTLPower will come out with impressive results.

However, one thing keeps bugging me...this...TAN SRI DATO' SERI (DR) YEOH TIONG LAY is selling almost everyday but EPF is just the oppposite & buying everyday.

A Chairman keeps seelling of a blue chip share almost everyday doesn't make sense unless he is thinking of running due to the fear that BN is going to lose the GE13?

Do you remember that Ananda also sells plenty of Armada shares too? Yes, he sold complete all of his 1+3D & his IPP company getting back many billion $$$. Are they both running away due to the uncertainty of BN winning the GE13? Don't you all know they are both BN cronies?

I wonder if an of you had read YTL & Ananda history...YTL was bankrupt and not even able to pay employees salary until Mahathir comes along. Where was Ananda before before Mahathir comes in. Are both are Mahathir's proxies?

Mahathir is damn scared of Pakatan Rayat winning the GE13 & if PR really wins the GE, Mahathir will be on the hangman's noose.

So are they shifting their money elsewhere? Yes better to be safe than to be sorry? Ye, if PK wins the GE13, then what will happen to BN cronies or to put it better, Mahathir's cronies.

So my advice to all is this....EPF buys, yu all buy, that's as simple as this.

Cheers.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-17 02:47 | Report Abuse

Still, many traders actually take all this negativity as a contrarian signal to invest in stocks. After all, a new bull market began the last time strategists recommended owning this little in stocks. The contrarians reason that if Wall Street's clients have listened to the strategists, then there is no one left to sell and the market can go higher.

"We already know that investors of all types currently hate stocks, and now strategists love them as much as they did at the depths of the financial crisis as well," wrote Justin Walters, co-founder of Bespoke Investment Group. "Sounds like a buying opportunity to us."

Bespoke, known for its in-depth historical analysis, has the data to back this viewpoint up. It seems when strategists hate stocks most, it is usually near the best time to buy.

The bulls argue that equities deserve more respect, if only because they offer the best alternative versus other asset classes.

gijoe

37 posts

Posted by gijoe > 2012-05-17 07:42 | Report Abuse

Interesting...  base ytl filing, ytl has been buying back its shares, look like the management stil confident,  wah the amount spend look like more than net profit of many company in klse..

Also, look like boss very confident in his YES 4G, if this network is sucessful huh, wonder what would be ytlp share price.

Posted by Solihin Bong > 2012-05-17 10:33 | Report Abuse

Ytlpower-wb .. tp? sape tau please...

joseph2321

175 posts

Posted by joseph2321 > 2012-05-17 15:50 | Report Abuse

hi , juz join ur forum today , any idea what is the good time to enter ?

Mat Cendana

2,337 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-17 17:18 | Report Abuse

joseph2321: That's the million dollar question... if only we *really* know when. If one were to buy based on fundamentals alone, there's nothing wrong with now and at this price. However, there's strong selling pressure the past few weeks - it can't go up when the big boys sell every time there's a rise.

I'm also using some technical analysis to try and get the `best' time. Am looking at the MACD 26d,12d for a breakout (when the blue line crosses the red). It's not there yet. However, you should base the buy decision based on this alone although with me it's a good enough rule-of-thumb.

joseph2321

175 posts

Posted by joseph2321 > 2012-05-17 17:25 | Report Abuse

Hi Mat Cendana , thanks , i juz bought some today .

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-17 17:54 | Report Abuse

Hi Bros, buy and keep should be fine since today is the lowest YTD @1.55, Trend-Investor style like Mayor Brader Chong Tun Mahathir's Proxy Hahaha will definitely buy this stock today. Hahaha..
Brader MatCendana, TA: Stochastic indicate as Oversold today. RSI @26 (below30). MACD both (-), High volume at 17.52M-Black Candle Stick. Buy and keep to some cash-rich holder shall be no problem, buy more to average down if the price go lower. I didn't buy YTLPOWR but I bought YTL. Note: TA like this is definitely not for short-term traders.

stncws

10,704 posts

Posted by stncws > 2012-05-17 18:34 | Report Abuse

if i buy warrant, if they privatise mother YTLP.
what happen to my YTLP-WB?

Posted by Solihin Bong > 2012-05-18 09:07 | Report Abuse

YTLP-WB WHAT TP? SAPE TAU...

bryan_su

645 posts

Posted by bryan_su > 2012-05-18 17:01 | Report Abuse

YTLP-WB off market price at 0.245, 50million done....

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-18 17:32 | Report Abuse

Mana Brother Chong ni? Going to see Tun Mahathir lah tu. Haloo..

gijoe

37 posts

Posted by gijoe > 2012-05-19 11:19 | Report Abuse

extracted this from the malaysian invest blog, just to share the information, bcos some of us do share some same view ..

can someone call boss to verify the information .. lol

share market is very high risk, but high risk high return.. invest at your own risk :)

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

What could be the reason for YTL selling YTLPower's warrants?

YTL Corporation, the holding company for Yeoh Tiong Lay and family has been selling some 110.9 million warrant B shares of YTL Power over the last 2 months. At the same time, YTL Power's shares has dropped from around RM1.88 to its current price of RM1.57, around 16% drop. During the same period, the warrant, YTL-WB dropped from RM0.65 to RM0.40, a 38% drop. It is quite unusual for shareholders to continue to throw a utility company like YTL Power as usually it is regarded as a defensive stock - unless they are having the feeling that insiders are selling. What could possibly be the reasons for the disposal of the warrants?

As at 15 May 2012

Number of Shares
Yeoh Tiong Lay (family) 4,025,649,031
Total shares (Paid up) 7,326,603,729
Percentance Holding of common 54.95%

Warrant(RM1.21)
Yeoh Tiong Lay (family) 84.03%
Total shares (Paid up) 1,176,793,281
if all excercised by YTL 988,859,394
How much they would need to inject (RM) 1,196,519,867

Assuming all warrant exercised
-------------------------------
Yeoh Tiong Lay's shares 5,014,508,425
Total shares incl. warrant exercised 8,503,397,010
Percentage Holding of shares by
Yeoh Tiong Lay (family) 58.97%

Note: Last 2 months YTL Corp sold 110.9 million shares

Based on the above table, YTL's family control of YTL Power is safely at 55%. This is without assuming all the current YTL-WB warrants are exercised. If all the warrants are exercised, their control would have increased to 59%. Why? They are still holding a whopping 84% of the outstanding warrants mostly held via YTL Corporation. To exercise all the warrants (RM1.21 per warrant), it would have to use up RM1.2 billion of YTL Corporation's cash. As at 2011, YTL Corp has RM2.1 billion cash at company level. At the same time, it has RM1.65 billion debt.

Note, the family controls YTL Corp through a 47.92% shareholding.

1. YTL Corporation - the entity that has been selling the Warrants for the last 2 months is not looking at holding that many warrants - that's for sure. This is because it does not see itself injecting so much of YTL Corporation's cash into YTL Power. Over the years, both companies (especially YTL Corp) have been buying back stocks. By doing that, and with the current share holding, they are definitely not worried of their stakes diminishing.

2. At company level, you would have noticed that YTL Corp does not hold that much cash. Its cash is only at net RM500 million. Yes, they would be able to raise more cash from future dividends as the warrant is not due until 2018 but again, they would prefer the minority shareholders to fork out the cash for exercising the warrants rather than them.

3. By selling, YTL Corp can at least maintain or sustain the dividend payment ratio of the group assuming the income will be consistently improving. This will also preserve its cash ratio. By selling the warrants, YTL Corp gains cash whereas by exercising the warrants, YTL Corp will need to put in more cash into YTL Power.

4. The recent MGO for YTL Cement was an all share deal which does not involve cash at all. So, we probably can see that they have tried to use as little cash as possible in their deals.

5. The YTL Cement deal has also caused the Yeoh's family holdings in YTL Corp to reduce from 52.72% to 47.92%. They have 2 ways to increase their holdings back to 50% or more (if its any important) - share buyback or YTL Corp and / or more acquisitions of the shares via the family vihicel. To do that, YTL Corp will need more cash - either by issuing more dividends off the holdings or buying back shares. They can and may do both. I however foresee, YTL Corp to be more active in buying back its shares, as what they are doing currently.

6. Hence, the selling of the warrants does not depict that the family is perceiving its share price to be expensive. It is just an insider action which is more strategic for the family than anything.

Note: If insider is selling / buying (especially in Malaysia), there could be a reason that they want you to know that they are selling or buying. What more for a company such as YTL Power which has been listed for so long. Note that the selling is done by another listed co, YTL Corp - not its private entity.