QL RESOURCES BHD

KLSE (MYR): QL (7084)

+0.03 (0.62%)

4.84 - 4.90

2,732 comment(s). Last comment by WongGK92 1 month ago

i3Value

612 posts

Posted by i3Value > 2019-06-01 12:06 | Report Abuse

Why bother convince Sslee? He dont have the brains for investing, that is a fact.

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:08 | Report Abuse

Personally I think u actually oredi tried n realised their moat few months ago....

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/phillipinvesting/197011.jsp

"I expect many japanese familymart combi stores in Sabah and Sarawak soon, serving a healthy and tastier option to generic fast food options that you can get from 7-11 and mynews. Try the tomyam oden. Its good. Its QL.'

i3Value

612 posts

Posted by i3Value > 2019-06-01 12:08 | Report Abuse

The thing i cant stand most about Sslee is he preach the superhero attitude but he own character is so very flawed. And he cant see it. Can only see other people bad point

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Jun 1, 2019 12:05 PM | Report Abuse

charles and nay sayers, u have said enough.

Me nay sayer? No No No No dont get me wrong....

I am die hard fan of FM's Oden with MSG

i3Value

612 posts

Posted by i3Value > 2019-06-01 12:12 | Report Abuse

CharlesT should be grouped together with Choivo, Taneng and Sslee - The Quartet of Irritants

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 12:13 | Report Abuse

What is the possibility of public Bank growing double digit for the next 10 years? What is the possibility of public Bank adding new income streams like Hong Leong into industrial, construction etc and doing it efficiently? What is public Bank track record in expanding into Australia, China, Japan, Vietnam, Indonesia?

If you tell me public Bank management told you they have a plan to grow revenues and business units with double digit revenue growth every year for the next 10 years, and they keep to their promises, then yes I am sure market will follow them to pe50.

Price earnings multiples are due to market confidence and perception of long term earnings of a company.

PB bank can expand and replicate business into foreign countries easily?

Also CharlesT I am an ex long term investor of PB bank, so I have confidence in on durability, and not pb growth.

That is what is missing.

5. QL will able to replicate its business units in foreign countries and dominate due to economies of scale and superior management.

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:13 | Report Abuse

I look forward to the day 10 years from now when 1 quarter of QL will be 2 billion in revenue, and a net profit of 150 million per quarter. It has performed so far along the lines of my growth triggers, and unless they invent star trek food 3D process, I expect business to be resilient to interruption. I expect the next growth triggers to be from local regions like indonesia, vietnam, phillipines etc where over time efficient integrated business will rule over ineficient ones. QL has yet to have a negative quarter, and excellent diversification and expansion track record historically. This quarter is their all time record of quarter revenue and quarterly profits. I am satisfied to sit and wait and hold.

I am expecting them to jump from 206 million net profit last year to 240 million net profit this year end.

Though QL only delivered RM216M net profit vs Philip's earlier projection of RM240M, I still believe his 10 years' projection (RM2 B in revenues) will come true...

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:14 | Report Abuse

5. QL will able to replicate its business units in foreign countries and dominate due to economies of scale and superior management.

SO far any proven results?

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:15 | Report Abuse

Do u have any idea what is PB Bank's growth for the past 10 years?

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:17 | Report Abuse

Posted by i3Value > Jun 1, 2019 12:12 PM | Report Abuse

CharlesT should be grouped together with Choivo, Taneng and Sslee - The Quartet of Irritants

When adults engaged in serious discussion small kids dont kakacacau..go play sand

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 12:18 | Report Abuse

Proven and documented.

>>>>>>>>

01/06/2019 12:14 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:21 | Report Abuse

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > Jun 1, 2019 12:18 PM | Report Abuse

Proven and documented.

Posted by CharlesT > Jun 1, 2019 12:14 PM | Report Abuse X

Care to share here?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 12:22 | Report Abuse

Yes. I held close to 500k shares in public Bank before I sold it all to invest in PCHEM at 8.15-8.32 in February.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/philip6/193465.jsp

How many shares of pbb did you invest in?

>>>>>>>>

CharlesT Do u have any idea what is PB Bank's growth for the past 10 years?
01/06/2019 12:15 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:27 | Report Abuse

Do u have any secret formula to work out to justify QL deserves a PE 50+ than Pb Bank PE 15+...

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 12:28 | Report Abuse

Probably not. Those are all material information given by management, and all included in their annual reports from 2013 onwards. Layer farming in Vietnam, Indonesia replication and Palm oil expansion . Sales of frozen seafood to Australia and Japan, meeting stringent export criteria and international ISO license and cold container ship export licenses.

If you have to ask to share here, meaning you do not know why QL is pe50.

I would much prefer to keep it that way.

You may continue to invest in your mnrb which has good profits as well and p/e of 3.

>>>>>>>

Care to share here?
01/06/2019 12:21 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:30 | Report Abuse

Posted by CharlesT > Jun 1, 2019 12:29 PM | Report Abuse X

PChem now at PE 14+ (better than PB PE 15+)...is it better than QL PE 50+ too?

Will u consider to sell some QL and switch to PCHem at current price levels?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 12:34 | Report Abuse

This year ql revenues is 3.6 billion, last year 3.26. I leave you to do the math of revenue growth percentage.

And if you are thinking of earnings growth, I leave you to all Warren buffet why they buy Amazon with subpar earnings growth for many many years.

6. When investing we should always buy for the future growth and returns, and not the past.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>

CharlesT SO QL (PE 50+)with its 5% growth is still better than PB Bank (PE 15+)?
01/06/2019 12:25 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:34 | Report Abuse

Layer farming in Vietnam, Indonesia replication and Palm oil expansion . Sales of frozen seafood to Australia and Japan, meeting stringent export criteria and international ISO license and cold container ship export licenses.

Many co are doing these (successful overseas venture)...example Topglove etc...but they are not PE 50+

I think Topglove's growth is much higher than 5% a year...and i think they also shows 20 years never loss record

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 12:36 | Report Abuse

Hardly. You can interview to top 30 shareholders and ask them why they don't sell they shares to buy mnrb.

But don't ask liu sin, he has Ajay designated his shares to give to his kids. Not selling a single one.

As am I.

>>>>>>>>>>

To me it seems u are the only one who knows...
01/06/2019 12:30 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:36 | Report Abuse

6. When investing we should always buy for the future growth and returns, and not the past.

Fully agreed so...the future of QL lies with their ODEN in FM

U tasted their tomyum oden long time ago n u knew their secret...just that u kept it to yrself n dont want to share

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:38 | Report Abuse

osted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > Jun 1, 2019 12:36 PM | Report Abuse

Hardly. You can interview to top 30 shareholders and ask them why they don't sell they shares to buy mnrb.

FYI i did interview some major shareholders in ICAP asking why they keep on holding their shares n guess what they replied?

They believe in Tan Teng Boo...it's kind of religious

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:42 | Report Abuse

At least in QL case u are much more rational n not so religious to the Boss..

U knew it's all due to their Oden..u are only religious to their Oden...u believe fully in the power of Oden...so am I

That explained the sharp increase in QL's price from 2017..in tandem with the opening of FM in Msia

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 12:46 | Report Abuse

Ok I will stop replying now. This is like SSLEE level of taking things out of context and putting what they already assumed into their thought process.

ICAP business and QL are so different and far apart it's not even in the same universe.

One is backed by organic revenue growth and results, the other is simply a scam.

I think you are just another troll. Have a good weekend

>>>>>>>>>>

FYI i did interview some major shareholders in ICAP asking why they keep on holding their shares n guess what they replied?

i3Value

612 posts

Posted by i3Value > 2019-06-01 12:47 | Report Abuse

Compare QL with Public Bank??? Bank is industry totally difference from all other, waste time compare. Can never achieve anything from this comparison

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 12:53 | Report Abuse

So which co shall we compare with QL to see whether it's fairly valued or not?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 13:13 | Report Abuse

Exactly. If wanted to compare should compare peers, if size and integration level got cp foods and japhtra to compare with. Tyson foods and NH foods.

If want to compare in bursa similar bisness compare with layhong, cck, lhi, teoseng etc. That would be more fair comparison.

But once you do you will quickly realize the level of efficiency shown by ql and their right management in growing new business units like family mart, seafood, frozen surimi processing, later farming etc from just a simple feed mill operator.

Then the meaning of the word quality management becomes clearer.

>>>>>>>

i3Value Compare QL with Public Bank??? Bank is industry totally difference from all other, waste time compare. Can never achieve anything from this comparison
01/06/2019 12:47 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 13:31 | Report Abuse

Last year claimed growth will be powerful with the opening of new FM n antipated profit growth of 20% so as to justify pe 50+

When final q result is finally out n profit growth is only 5% then started to talk abt 20 years never loss record...

Peter ah peter better go sell rori canai...u hv the talent..

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 13:35 | Report Abuse

Profit growth 20% to justify pe 50+..

Profit growth 5% leh? PE???

Do u need a calculator?

Posted by enigmatic [Breaker of Speculative Investing] > 2019-06-01 13:55 | Report Abuse

I've been away for a few days. Now what I see is fellow forumers taking the opportunity to bash Mr. Philip when QL announced a slight drop in YOY performance in this QR.

Oh please.

Didn't the overall revenue & profit for QL increase from FY 2018 to 2019? Not many companies grew in overall revenue & profit in the past year amidst challenging economic environment.

Again, price is what you pay. Value is what you get. PE 50 encompasses stability that QL has been providing recently. PE 5 Dayang is good for trading, but huge volatility comes with it.

QL is one stable stock alongside PB Bank which I can safely rely on while buying more speculative stocks for trading.

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 14:29 | Report Abuse

Pb bank also stable pe 15 co

Then again somebody may claim dont compare apple with orrage

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 14:31 | Report Abuse

Will you sell some pe 50 ql n buy more pb bank pe 15+?

Why not?

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 14:33 | Report Abuse

All u old dinosours seems fail to understand the concept of portfolio rebalancing...

6,901 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-06-01 14:35 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
You win. I wish my boss is as generous as you.
11 billion investments:
Year 1 profit 217 million
Year 2
----
Year 10 profit 600 million

Posted by stockraider > 2019-06-01 14:42 | Report Abuse

Efficiency as a basis of investment on an overvalue stock loh...!!

How much can u grow your profit on the basis of efficiency to bring down your PE to below 50x ?

Thats why last year PE 50x this year also Pe 50x loh....!!

High risk chances of crumble very high loh...!!

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > Jun 1, 2019 1:13 PM | Report Abuse

Exactly. If wanted to compare should compare peers, if size and integration level got cp foods and japhtra to compare with. Tyson foods and NH foods.

If want to compare in bursa similar bisness compare with layhong, cck, lhi, teoseng etc. That would be more fair comparison.

But once you do you will quickly realize the level of efficiency shown by ql and their right management in growing new business units like family mart, seafood, frozen surimi processing, later farming etc from just a simple feed mill operator.

Then the meaning of the word quality management becomes clearer.

>>>>>>>

i3Value Compare QL with Public Bank??? Bank is industry totally difference from all other, waste time compare. Can never achieve anything from this comparison
01/06/2019 12:47 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 14:45 | Report Abuse

Prices increases 100% since 2017 in antipation of higher earning fm FM etc

Earlier projected profit growth 20%..actual result 5%...but prices still stood at rm7.00

U guys should really thank Boss for his support..

Other co price should hv plunged 30% easily

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 14:52 | Report Abuse

Even at PE 35 also very much higher than most stable co....

Posted by stockraider > 2019-06-01 14:53 | Report Abuse

Someone may have bribe EPF fund manager to support such a high price loh....!!

Posted by CharlesT > Jun 1, 2019 2:45 PM | Report Abuse

Prices increases 100% since 2017 in antipation of higher earning fm FM etc

Earlier projected profit growth 20%..actual result 5%...but prices still stood at rm7.00

U guys should really thank Boss for his support..

Other co price should hv plunged 30% easily

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 14:55 | Report Abuse

I would rather go for Harta Pe 38+ for long run...

If not for oden with msg

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 14:57 | Report Abuse

Having said so, ql is still better than ihh pe 73..

With or without giving free oden in agm

Undi_PAS

582 posts

Posted by Undi_PAS > 2019-06-01 15:00 |

Undi_PAS

582 posts

Posted by Undi_PAS > 2019-06-01 15:03 | Report Abuse

If PE 50 is fair why not all stocks rerated upwards? Why only QL?

miker

708 posts

Posted by miker > 2019-06-01 15:11 | Report Abuse

Haiyaaa...don't wolly lar, the price will be back to the equilibrium later..

Undi_PAS

582 posts

Posted by Undi_PAS > 2019-06-01 15:11 | Report Abuse

Who control IHH PE? Also EPF?

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 15:13 | Report Abuse

If possible i also want to interview the 30 major shareholders of IHH why they are holding a PE 78 co....why dont they buy PE 50 Ql...much much cheaper...

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 16:41 | Report Abuse

(US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip This is what I told you would happen in January,I already expected QL to do well. Any nasty surprises? None?

Why? This is a clockwork business. You know exactly what they are doing where they are going.

Although I hope that story doesn't change, so far I am confident. But of course will still find out during the next quarter result announcement.

So even if you are doing technical trading, I am still looking at:

1 billion revenue, 75 million net profit (average for dec quarter sales 7.5% consistently over 9 years), which will be their highest profit margin ever.

So if that is the case, I don't see any reason why I would sell like a overstimulated cactus.
01/03/2019 9:58 PM

Philip's prediction on Q4 : RM 1 Billion sales net profit RM75M (7.5%)
Actual Q4 result : RM 0.898 Billion sales net profit RM43M (4.3%)

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 16:43 | Report Abuse

The biggest problem you may have is the inability to judge risk. Why should all stocks be rerated upwards? We need to measure risk vs return as a choice of how much premium to pay.

Apples vs oranges indeed.

Why are some people offered 12% per annum personal loans while I was offered 2.89% loan from hap Seng credit to buy agricultural machinery?

Why does bumi armada pay 8.3% on their term loans while QL with 1 billion in loans only paid 48 million in finance costs in 2018?

Banks are falling over themselves to borrow money to QL at low low rates. Why is that?

Probably the same reason we hold QL at pe50.

Safety of investment.

>>>>>>>>>>>

Undi_PAS If PE 50 is fair why not all stocks rerated upwards? Why only QL?
01/06/2019 3:03 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 16:45 | Report Abuse

We are unfortunate that we cant witness the superb investing records of Philip in the past 10 years as he only came to I3 actively to teach us since last year...

Even all his latest predictions in QL went Holland I still think Philip is a very smart investor...or else he will not be so much richer than me and most of us here...simple logic right?

So dont tease him on QL again...spare the oldman

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-06-01 16:48 | Report Abuse

Posting this here to show how silly this remark is.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/ql-resources-achieves-11-growth-4q-net-profit-pays-45-sen-dividend

If you want to troll, troll elsewhere. Information here is very easily available.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

CharlesT Congrates Philip, u made Rm1 million from QL...

Ops sorry...u save Rm1 million indeed......

Q4 no div..
01/06/2019 4:36 PM

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 16:49 | Report Abuse

Funny Philip u reminded me of my good old friend KYY when he first appeared as Superinvestor (some even called him Stock God) in I3 during 2013 ( I think)....a lot of fans then (even now lah...)

What happened next then is history...he did enjoy his golden days in I3 lah

14,960 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-06-01 16:52 | Report Abuse

Oh my bad...I made a mistake on the div...it didnt appear in my apps