CAPITAL A BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CAPITALA (5099)

0.715 - 0.76

127 people like this.

167,765 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 45 minutes ago

Posted by infinity888 > 2020-07-06 21:14 | Report Abuse

air asia really fly you to Holland this time ...

28,383 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-07-06 21:15 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR, July 6 -- AirAsia Group Bhd recorded a net loss of RM803.85 million for the first quarter ended March 31, 2020, compared with a net profit of RM96.09 million in the same period last year.

onionchong

430 posts

Posted by onionchong > 2020-07-06 21:16 | Report Abuse

I dont think tmr will drop alot. This kind of result is quite expected

rasyid7

72 posts

Posted by rasyid7 > 2020-07-06 21:17 | Report Abuse

Haha. Say, what you want people.
AirAsia brings tourism to Malaysia.. About 9 million passengers.. Even expenses from China tourist is already 1% from Malaysia gdp

Yes AirAsia is not proton

But gov will protect them

Posted by GrahamNewman > 2020-07-06 21:18 | Report Abuse

I’m not here to put salt onto the wounds, but if you thought AA balance sheet is horrible, wait till you get to the “notes to the financial statements” where they tell you the “off-balance sheet obligations” that was owed to the lessor of those airplanes you see on the field, then you realise the company has almost negative net worth.

Well, negative net worth company could be an excellent one, like Home Depot of the US, where the entire business is financed by borrowing from banks. But they have extremely strong cash flow to support the borrowings.

But AA as I see, due to the pandemic, they would have tremendous pressure to pay the lease for the airplanes. I think it was unfortunate that Fernandes sold the airplanes and gave out all the proceeds as dividends. If they default on the lease payment, who knows what will happen. They might have to return the airplanes and cut opex, but their workforce is already a huge fixed cost, and retrenchment will only exacerbate the cash flow pressure as they will need to pay compensation for retrenched staff.

I think they overstretched themselves for too Long and this could be the undoing event. It would be interesting to see the development. Maybe some white knight could be the saviour, but there will apt to be a lot of pain.

I am very happy as their customer as AA provides an essential service. But I just can’t commit to buy the shares, especially after discovering those off-balance sheet obligations, those obligations is every bit real as bank borrowings.

The economics of airlines is just appalling even with monopoly, as geographically, Malaysia is not that big that u had to take a plane to travel unless you go east Malaysia. Forget about foreign operations, one competitor is enough to put it out of business.

Diego2020

454 posts

Posted by Diego2020 > 2020-07-06 21:20 | Report Abuse

only 2 weeks into MCO (18th March - 31 March) drop 800million, 2nd quarter might record 1.5-1.6billlon... need to wait until 2022 to cover the losses for 1QF20

Mtrade

706 posts

Posted by Mtrade > 2020-07-06 21:24 | Report Abuse

WTF.... tmr im gonna sell all my airasia share cos this is very bad :( 2 weeks MCO already 800mil loss... I don't dare think next QR when airasia has no income during MCO

Bobii

358 posts

Posted by Bobii > 2020-07-06 21:38 | Report Abuse

Yes, just sell it and move your capital to other companies that can perform. No point wasting your time here and see AA recover until maybe next year.

Bobii

358 posts

Posted by Bobii > 2020-07-06 21:39 | Report Abuse

The next 3 quarters are impossible to have a green QR. They will just keep burning, borrow money and raise money to keep burning. Better move to other companies lol. Don't learn from that @daily8 still living in his dream.

Posted by kariwong9394 > 2020-07-06 21:39 | Report Abuse

tomolo gap down...

TP 0.5

CoolJay

831 posts

Posted by CoolJay > 2020-07-06 21:41 | Report Abuse

Please sell so we can buy in :3

Good123

25,231 posts

Posted by Good123 > 2020-07-06 21:41 | Report Abuse

AirAsia swings to a net loss of RM803.8mil in 1QFY20, hurt by weaker travel demand amid the Covid-19 outbreak.

silverwave

402 posts

Posted by silverwave > 2020-07-06 21:51 | Report Abuse

what shall be the TP tomorrow? 60 cents?

Chris6601

28 posts

Posted by Chris6601 > 2020-07-06 21:57 | Report Abuse

If.0.60 I all in.....

Condom003

163 posts

Posted by Condom003 > 2020-07-06 22:01 | Report Abuse

Later right issue 0.5 cent

buffet3333

201 posts

Posted by buffet3333 > 2020-07-06 22:02 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/airasia-posts-record-net-loss-rm804m-1q-no-thanks-wrong-hedge-against-oil-prices-hefty

''Quarterly loss per share came in at 24.1 sen in 1QFY20''...tomorrow 9am drop 24sen at least

''The budget airline saw a Negative operating cash flow of RM116.1 million''...may not able to pump fuel or pay salary

''AirAsia said it has sought payment deferrals from its suppliers and lenders''...no need wait for Q2 results, might not survive past that

If you are a bank, will you borrow money to help AA survive for another few months???

Diego2020

454 posts

Posted by Diego2020 > 2020-07-06 22:02 | Report Abuse

Tony's Tune hotel also recorded fewer sales, wahh Tony will be unemploy soon... Can apply at my barbershop... need one more barber... demand increase lately

sampooler

659 posts

Posted by sampooler > 2020-07-06 22:03 | Report Abuse

as I said before .. without cn tourist AA will fly to Holland.. in early February cn already lockdown. our local ppl cannot replace it.

sampooler

659 posts

Posted by sampooler > 2020-07-06 22:11 | Report Abuse

my tp 0.45

newbie1111

1,842 posts

Posted by newbie1111 > 2020-07-06 22:18 | Report Abuse

this is a company at risk of running out of money, now many more money losing months can they afford before traffic go back to even just break even level?

Good123

25,231 posts

Posted by Good123 > 2020-07-06 22:21 | Report Abuse

big fall tomorrow, 60 or 70sen probably

Daily8

3,858 posts

Posted by Daily8 > 2020-07-06 22:22 | Report Abuse

Gov thru newspaper have mentioned they will bailout an airline because of it's sustainability. They got to be fair to other sectors which in need of support.

https://fortune.com/2020/06/09/government-airline-bailout/

kennethG

162 posts

Posted by kennethG > 2020-07-06 22:24 | Report Abuse

time to collect

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2020-07-06 22:24 | Report Abuse

Q1 like this Q2 3 times Koyak?

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2020-07-06 22:28 | Report Abuse

Aax = Permaju = Gpacket = Airasia = Saprng

Diego2020

454 posts

Posted by Diego2020 > 2020-07-06 22:39 | Report Abuse

The government will bail airlines out, don't worry... if airlines declare bankruptcy, the Tourism sector will also be affected, Oil and Gas consumption will be affected, if there are no tourists, the property market also be affected, when property market be affected, the construction industries will also be affected... when all of this sector be affected next banking sector will also be giving less loan cause there's less corporate and domestic borrowings... when banking fail, Malaysia will generate less GDP and might as well inflation will drop... foreign investor will run... so yeah

drobertp40

205 posts

Posted by drobertp40 > 2020-07-06 22:42 | Report Abuse

I post it again today. Very interesting well articulated argument about air Asia current and future performance here
https://www.facebook.com/MartinTFWong/videos/598153020808154/

drobertp40

205 posts

Posted by drobertp40 > 2020-07-06 22:42 | Report Abuse

I post it again today. Very interesting well articulated argument about air Asia current and future performance here
https://www.facebook.com/MartinTFWong/videos/598153020808154/

greedy44444

2,494 posts

Posted by greedy44444 > 2020-07-06 22:52 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow can line up 200 lots at 0.60

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2020-07-06 22:55 | Report Abuse

Going pn17 n delisted. Like Mas airline. Still can fly bompipi

greedy44444

2,494 posts

Posted by greedy44444 > 2020-07-06 23:00 | Report Abuse

Many airlines around the world facing bankruptcy

greedy44444

2,494 posts

Posted by greedy44444 > 2020-07-06 23:02 | Report Abuse

Unless gomen ready to pump money into AA but PN gomen also no money liao...need to borrow money to finance its Penjana.

Khoo810

160 posts

Posted by Khoo810 > 2020-07-06 23:06 | Report Abuse

Bankrupt soon !!!
Cash flow so serious defisit.

Loh Kok Wai W

3,614 posts

Posted by Loh Kok Wai W > 2020-07-06 23:06 | Report Abuse

buy buy buy election coming soon.

biba

94 posts

Posted by biba > 2020-07-06 23:16 | Report Abuse

AirAsia Group Bhd posted a net loss of RM803.85 million for the first quarter ended March 31, 2020 (1QFY20), partly dragged down by the wrong hedge against crude oil prices which collapsed in March and the hefty sum of depreciation.

biba

94 posts

Posted by biba > 2020-07-06 23:17 | Report Abuse

Quarterly loss per share came in at 24.1 sen in 1QFY20 compared with earnings per share of 2.9 sen previously.

biba

94 posts

Posted by biba > 2020-07-06 23:17 | Report Abuse

The budget airline saw a negative operating cash flow of RM116.1 million, in contrast to a positive cash flow of RM289 million

geary

6,294 posts

Posted by geary > 2020-07-06 23:18 | Report Abuse

Nothing Happening...same old stories... consolidating trend...maybe up slightly...!!!

biba

94 posts

Posted by biba > 2020-07-06 23:18 | Report Abuse

The group said the colossal net loss was mainly on account of RM270.1 million worth of fair value losses on derivatives, some RM110 million in settlement losses for fuel hedges, as well as RM243 million in additional depreciation and lease liabilities interest on operating lease aircraft.

biba

94 posts

Posted by biba > 2020-07-06 23:21 | Report Abuse

Associates Thai Air Asia Co Ltd (Thai AirAsia) and AirAsia (India) Ltd also posted losses. In the case of Thai AirAsia, it saw a loss after tax of 1.22 billion Thai baht, from a profit after tax of 902.92 million Thai baht. AirAsia India saw loss after tax increased to 3.35 billion rupees, from 1.47 billion rupees.

ERIC

157 posts

Posted by ERIC > 2020-07-06 23:59 | Report Abuse

expected q2 will face bigger loss

Posted by Johnng8882020 > 2020-07-07 00:04 | Report Abuse

Air Asia sure drop kaw kaw

Glucifer

30 posts

Posted by Glucifer > 2020-07-07 00:04 | Report Abuse

Q2 will definitely facing bigger loss than Q1. In such a case, 1H is going to face loss more than billion? Damn...how to recover by 1-2 years time?Even sales back to normal will also take many years....

ValueMe

176 posts

Posted by ValueMe > 2020-07-07 00:05 | Report Abuse

Wont be surprised if Airasia share goes up instead of going down..

Mabel

23,551 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2020-07-07 00:06 | Report Abuse

Fair enough.. I have not seen the details as my only access on AA is via my smartphone through i3 posting here..

Well guys this is not the first time AA is making losses. AAX is even worse..somehow both airlines has survived ..

Every time they suffer losses many great analysts starts coming out..

I hear what you guys are saying..do take necessary steps to cut your losses if you must..

For the rest who still believe in AA.. Treat this counter as part of giving back.. CSR...... Whatever... Buy and forget.. Revisit when it has revitalise again...after all this is not the first time they suffer losses.

This is exactly what happened to Gloves. When my sister Teresa make a pledge to donate 18 million gloves to China, that's where I started to jump into Gloves.. to help China to fight Convid 19..I just buy the Fantastic Four and Forget..Now I'm smiling all the way to the beaches..

In the past AA has been great. I get to enjoy the 90 sen Special Dividend plus the subsequent dividend.

Honestly, took ages for AA to break 80 sen.. Let see how much it can go lower..

Like I said, this is not like "caught with your pants down". We all knew this is coming...like I said current price has been factored already..

If it drops further, so be it..

Meow

Mtrade

706 posts

Posted by Mtrade > 2020-07-07 00:12 | Report Abuse

good luck guys ... those who hope will up to RM 1.00 is impossible ... wait August QR 2 bill loss TP 0.3/0.4

benykp

347 posts

Posted by benykp > 2020-07-07 00:35 | Report Abuse

Goreng to 0.90.... Sigh

Ipo $1 that time also don't have so much losses.

Gl tomorrow. If don't run, prepare to get stuck for a long time. No way it can recover so soon with the amount of sheer losses.

Tp 0.50