YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

-0.18 (4.70%)

3.61 - 3.79

46 people like this.

31,955 comment(s). Last comment by Antifanaticracism 10 minutes ago

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-06 10:58 | Report Abuse

EPF just ceased to be a substantial shareholder of YTLP and still has some 400 million shares for potential sell off. Looking at its aggressive selling of 5m to 6m a day, it would probably take 67 to 80 days for EPF to completely sell off its stakes in YTLP.

Compared to YTL, EPF has been even more aggressive in selling, sometimes at over 20m shares a day, so its stakes in YTL should be low now. That's why we see YTL share has been running up more than YTLP which is capped by EPF selling.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-06-06 11:13 | Report Abuse

@dragon328, you mentioned on Wessex RAB as per below:
-The beauty of a regulated asset is that it never loses money and its asset base will always expand along with inflation.
-With rising interest rates in next 2 years, Wessex is entering a rapid asset expansion phase with its RAB expected to increase by over 500 million pounds in 2020-2025 regulatory period.

wouldn't rising interest rate would actually reduce the inflation rate? Appreciate if you could enlighten more on the mechanism of RAB valuation..

Gun8811

34 posts

Posted by Gun8811 > 2023-06-06 11:13 | Report Abuse

除非你有库存能收石油,不然油价起你拿什么来发电。。。

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-06-06 12:28 | Report Abuse

https://klse1.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/67695.jsp

We came away from its analysts briefing last Friday feeling positive about its earnings outlook. The key takeaways are as follows:

1. The company expects PowerSeraya’s earnings to sustain at least in the next 2-3 years given: (i) no new plant-up of power plants in Singapore for the next three years which would sustain good retail price that it currently enjoys, (ii) no more “take or pay” LNG supply agreements which have ended between 2020 and 2023, which reduces input costs, and (iii) its locked-in low gas prices secured during the early days of the pandemic which will last for the next 2- 3 years, thus keeping its fuel cost low.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-06 14:48 | Report Abuse

Thanks probability for the update article.

Basically what the management updated to analysts as highlighted in the article is in line with my understanding, the positive surprise is the confirmation that Jordan power plant has achieved full commercial operations and will soon receive some payments from the offtaker.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-06 14:51 | Report Abuse

Yes, rising interest rates will tend to lower inflation as a normal tool used by central banks to tame inflation.

In the case of Wessex Waters, high inflation will increase operating costs and erode profits, and rising interest rates will increase borrowing costs and erode profits.

High operating costs will be compensated through higher water tariffs in the operating cost component of the water tariff. Higher interest rates will result in a higher WACC (weighted average cost of capital) used to calculate the water tariffs which will adjust higher to compensate for the higher interest costs.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-06-06 14:55 | Report Abuse

ah ok, i got it dragon328...so the value goes up as per the rise in cost of equity and debt

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-06 15:32 | Report Abuse

Hong Leong Investment Bank (HLIB Research) is still optimistic about YTL Power International Bhd's prospects, which are supported by profit sustainability over the next three years.

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2023/06/917020/hlib-remains-optimistic-about-ytl-powers-earnings-potential

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-06 15:40 | Report Abuse

若连续几季都提供惊喜的税后盈利,这将大大缓和为数据中心或数码银行拨款的压力,特别是数据中心借贷的压力。

50,932 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-06-06 16:19 | Report Abuse

The investment bank has reiterated its "Buy" recommendation on the stock, with an unchanged target price of RM2.05

HLG TP 2.05

Posted by beginner888 > 2023-06-06 17:52 | Report Abuse

EPF keeps selling could this because majority assets of YTLPower are not in Malaysia, and taxes are not paid in Malaysia rather than pessimistic about the prospect, valuation or profitability of YTLPower ?

myloh123

259 posts

Posted by myloh123 > 2023-06-06 18:09 | Report Abuse

Epf was 5% equity owner back in 2018. The recent run up is logical for them to dispose. No sentiments. Epf looks at returns.

50,932 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-06-06 19:06 | Report Abuse

Search

ADVERTISEMENT

行家论股
【行家论股】杨忠礼电力 数字银行扩大收入

2023年06月06日

分析:肯纳格投行研究

目标价:1.48令吉

ADVERTISEMENT

最新进展:

杨忠礼电力(YTLPOWR,6742,主板公用事业股)指出,新加坡子公司杨忠礼西拉雅能源(Power Seraya)将是近期盈利主要推手。

同时,Wessex水务也将受到电费率上调约9%而恢复盈利能力。

ADVERTISEMENT

杨忠礼电力 YTLPOWR

行家建议:

我们在出席了公司的分析汇报会后,对其盈利前景保持积极看法。

ADVERTISEMENT

我们了解到,由于新加披未来3年内将不会有新建发电厂,将使零售价保持目前的良好水平,加上投入成本下降,让Power Seraya未来2至3年的盈利表现有望保持。

另外,对于Wessex水务于4月起受到上调电费率带动,预计将足以抵消营运成本走高,让业务转亏为盈。

公司持股45%的约旦Attarat发电厂,最近实现商业运营日期(COD),我们预计很快能收到承销商付款。

再者,其在柔佛耗资150亿令吉打造绿色数据中心园区,第一阶段的建设将于2024年首季竣工。

公司认为,该新行业潜力巨大,特别是中国科技公司如阿里巴巴、冬海集团和其他公司在东南亚设立服务器带来的强劲需求。

公司预计,其与冬海集团联营标得数字银行的财团,也将在2025财年贡献收益。

长期展望,我们看好数据中心和数字银行业务将扩大公司的盈利来源。

我们继续看好公司,维持“超越大市”评级,以及1.48令吉目标价不变。

soon9913

2,771 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2023-06-06 23:02 | Report Abuse

get div first

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-07 09:20 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2023/06/07/ytl-power-to-gain-from-higher-income

4QFY23的成绩有可能强过3QFY23。这不是不得了吗?
这预测,是根据什么呢?

The research house said the ongoing heatwave and renewal of retail contracts would help the unit post a stronger performance in the 4Q23.
这有理由,新加坡4-6月的气温不是高过1-3月吗?马币兑换率4-6月,马币不是更弱了吗?

Earnings support will also come from its UK based water supply and sewage utility, Wessex Water Services Ltd, which has been allowed to raise water tariff by 9% since April, according to the research house. The utility posted a pre-tax loss of RM47.2mil in the recent quarter but the 9% increase in tariff rate should enable it to offset raising operational costs and enable a turnaround in its financial performance in the quarters ahead, said Kenanga Research.
英国有机会有亏转盈

Kenanga Research said the group’s 45%-owned 554-megawatt oil shale-fired Attarah power plant in Jordan has achieved full commercial operation date recently and would receive payment from its off-taker, National Electric Power Co soon.
约旦极有可能提供第一次盈利。

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-07 09:24 | Report Abuse

Due to the upswing in prospects, the research house has an “outperform” call on YTL Power with a target price (TP) of RM1.48 per share.

HLIB Research has a “buy” call on the stock with an unchanged TP of RM2.05 a share but taking into consideration a six sen dividend for FY23 and eight sen for FY24-25 respectively.

“We believe the current valuation is undemanding, while earnings and dividend may surprise on the upside,” HLIB Research added.

预测,股息大概是6仙。不过有机会派更高的息。

有没有可能HLB给TP是RM2.05,是基于预测4QFY23的EPS是9仙呢?

9仙,等于720M的净利。有没有可能呢?

Gun8811

34 posts

Posted by Gun8811 > 2023-06-08 09:37 | Report Abuse

EPF park a big bus at 1.30, waiting you all buy higher 😂

Alex Chua

164 posts

Posted by Alex Chua > 2023-06-08 11:43 | Report Abuse

Wonder who has such a big appetite to accumulate EPF disposal portion at 1.30

wps123

4 posts

Posted by wps123 > 2023-06-08 15:20 | Report Abuse

The question is, would the company be still around in 5 to 10 years time? Given its net profits is a megre Rm1.2 Billion(the best over the past 5 years) to service the principal repayment of a huge debt of RM36 Billion? Anyone can enlighten?

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-08 21:34 | Report Abuse

@wps123, I don't know where you got the figure of RM36 billion debt from. Based on latest quarterly report as of 31 Mar 2023, YTLPower had total debts of RM30.9 billion and RM8.9 billion of cash, so net debt of RM22.0 billion. Pls get your facts right before you made baseless allegation.

YTLP operating cashflows totalled RM2,171 million for 9 months of FY2023 and topped RM1.0 billion for 3Q FY2023 alone, annualised to RM4.0 billion. Minus off capex of about RM2.0 billion, YTLP will still have RM2.0 billion of free cashflows or 25 sen per share every year. It can support easily 20 sen dividend payouts every year going forward.

The debts mentioned above are mostly sitting at subsidiary level and ring-fenced at each subsi company, i.e. they will not have any repercussion nor cause any cross default to the holding company. FYI, there is some few hundred millions of free cash at the holding company level for future project investments. The debts sitting at the subsidiary levels like Wessex and PowerSeraya are tied to the long term assets, and have their own repayment programs and financial covenants such as for a long term bond with bullet payment at maturity. Debt servicing is never a problem, especially now with strong cashflows from PowerSeraya (that top SGD1.0 billion a year) and impending turnaround in Wessex profits.

You should spend some time studying the balance sheet and cashflow statements, rather than just making baseless claims that made yourself look stxpid.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-08 21:40 | Report Abuse

If you do not know how to read balance sheet and cashflow statements, or are too lazy to make an effort to study the company prospects , but base your investment decision just based on hear-say or ah beng ah lian critics, pls move to other counter. We don't need such traders over here. We prefer investors who are patient and ready to hold for 2-3 years at least.

If you missed the boat and like to see the share price drop to buy in, you may get the chance in next 2 months. Don't simply sabotage and derate a company by using generic remarks with wrong facts.

26,786 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-08 21:41 | Report Abuse

aiyoh dragon328, why u so garang one? wps123 just made a mistake and u scold him kaw kaw like a little boy? releklah bro. chill!

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2023-06-08 23:00 | Report Abuse

I would add to facts provided by dragon328, in responding to wps123, and to enlighten wps123 further ...

YTLPower holds further liquid investments of RM1.2bil (see latest Annual Report bottom page 216), so net debt reduces further to RM21bil. More importantly, Wessex debts equivalent to RM16.4bil (see recent 3Q results page 23) are substantially long-dated - some RM10bil only repayable from 2026 until 2058 (again, refer to latest Annual Report).

So debt repayment in medium term very manageable, in spite of net profits being 'meagre' as suggested ...

observatory

1,064 posts

Posted by observatory > 2023-06-08 23:27 | Report Abuse

I usually check the forumer's background when reading such comments. Our friend has joined i3 since 2017 but has only posted 3 comments so far.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-06-09 01:20 | Report Abuse

El Niño planet-warming weather phase has begun

Published

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-65839060

There's also a strong likelihood that this year's version will push 2024 past 2016 as the world's hottest year.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-06-09 01:59 | Report Abuse

What happened during the last El Nino?

The last major El Nino event occurred in 2016. It affected more than 60 million people, particularly in eastern and southern Africa, the horn of the Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Asia pacific region.

It disrupted crop production, imposed societal distress and resulted in peak energy consumption

Unprecedented heatwaves driven by this major El Nino event made 2016 the hottest year on record in Singapore (since 1929) and globally

6,222 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-06-09 06:40 | Report Abuse

For those companies with debts, the only problem is increase in interest payment will eat into their profit. Some may not survive like what happen during the Asean financial crisis in year 1998 when interest rate go thro' the roof.

During that period, I still remember my bank send me letter every month that interest rate has increase till my monthly house loan installment payment sum cannot cover the interest payment.

By the way YTL group had survived and even prosper during the many past financial crisis.

6,222 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-06-09 06:51 | Report Abuse

In 1998 the interest rate was increased to defend the depreciation of RM against USD.

Soro even tell Dr.M see you at 5.0. Later Dr.M on 1 Septembeer 1998 introduced strong capital/currency control and fix the ringgit exchange rate at RM3. 8 to the US dollar, compared to the pre-crisis rate of around RM2.5.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-09 09:37 | Report Abuse

Haha, maybe our bro. D328 tak tahan El Nino.

Be prepared, the El Nino has arrived, since 9/6/2023.
https://www.bangkokpost.com/world/2587985/its-official-el-nino-has-arrived

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-09 10:51 | Report Abuse

Apologies for my harsh words. But I was simply fed up with those people who simply put out offensive remarks or baseless allegations.

Just like the case of Daibochi last year when someone buta buta defended the unreasonable privatisation of Daibochi by Scientex. I predicted very early on that the privatisation attempt would fail simply based on the low offer price and the bright prospects of Daibochi then. It indeed failed miserably. That guy was saying how good Scientex as a company was and how great the boss was, but that was not the point. The point of discussion was the low offer price.

Anyway, I will not respond to these baseless remarks anymore. Waste of time.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-09 10:53 | Report Abuse

@speakup, yes I need to chill out under such hot weather. Will go for a short trip in coming weekend.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-09 11:53 | Report Abuse

see just now someone sold almost 1 million shares of YTLP in a couple of minutes and pressed down the share price to RM1.26. It might have been EPF who still has over 400m shares of YTLP. We may get opportunities like this in next 2 months to accumulate YTLP at lower prices.

50,932 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-06-09 13:06 | Report Abuse

Epf gives good opportunity for cheap collection..
Once the stocks in epf depleted is end 9f cheap sale.
It is 2 mons time till next good QR coming...

Everything is right timing

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-09 14:38 | Report Abuse

Power project in Jordan reaches full operating status
https://www.chinadaily.com.cn/a/202305/31/WS6477022ba3107584c3ac32da.html

根据报道,第二单位的发电组织推算是在1/6/23,星期五,开始了商业模式。
看来,盈利贡献有限,只占2QCY2023的一个月,而且是单一单位罢了。
不过,这已经是很好的结果了。
期待另一个单位的启动日。

Apple888

728 posts

Posted by Apple888 > 2023-06-09 16:36 | Report Abuse

Dragon..is dividend 2.5c need to deduct tax?

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-09 16:38 | Report Abuse

It's clear some ppl SHORTed this morning betting on the ex-dividend price being much lower lol

50,932 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-06-09 18:47 | Report Abuse

2.5c dividend covers in one day.
Good job on this strong power counter..

myloh123

259 posts

Posted by myloh123 > 2023-06-09 18:57 | Report Abuse

Great put d dividends in ur pocket first😊

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2023-06-09 19:11 | Report Abuse

More to follow !!

Ran271221

88 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2023-06-10 14:07 | Report Abuse

Dulu saya melanggan www.188.com bagitau beli saham yg ada dividend, walaupun harga saham jatuh masih dpt pendapatan.

Muyutin

372 posts

Posted by Muyutin > 2023-06-11 23:01 | Report Abuse

POSSIBILITY YTL GET PG LRT PROJECT 😂😂😂

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-12 08:53 | Report Abuse

@apple888, this 2.5 sen dividend is ex tax, it is now single-tiered tax deduction at the company level

Muyutin

372 posts

Posted by Muyutin > 2023-06-12 11:04 | Report Abuse

PG LRT+ SG HSR

ChloeTai

1,443 posts

Posted by ChloeTai > 2023-06-12 20:44 | Report Abuse

ChloeTai

https://www.malaysiastock.biz/Corporate-Infomation.aspx?securityCode=6742

The above is a very good link. It shows the company quarterly earnings so that we can compare YoY and QoQ. It also shows all the announcements made by the company (We can see how EPF heavily selling the YTLPOWR shares. When they are the substantial shareholder, they must report the number of shares they disposed. When they are no longer substantial shareholder, they don't have to announced. So, we don't know what EPF is doing). It also includes highlights/news about the company (e.g. by THE EDGE). Just change the code (last four digits) and you can see the same contents of other companies.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-13 08:44 | Report Abuse

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/lower-electricity-bills-expected-this-year-as-global-energy-prices-stabilise-geneco-ceo

新加坡Geneco的CEO一些的访谈。
此报道可以帮忙我们了解新加坡走向绿色能源的大方向。
Geneco也有售卖绿色电源给住家用户,透过附加选项的方式。

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-13 08:46 | Report Abuse

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/byd-leads-ev-sales-race-in-2023-long-time-leader-tesla-falls-to-second-place-followed-by-bmw

这报道说明了,新加坡的电子车占市场的百分比不断攀升,虽然目前还是只占非常小的比例。

不过,却继续消耗更多更多的绿色电力。

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-06-13 08:48 | Report Abuse

12/6/2023,switching half of my YTLP shares to YTL.
sold RM1.30, buy mother share 0.95.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-13 16:56 | Report Abuse

good closing. Share price has more than recovered from the dividend adjustment. 2.5 sen dividend is now free

ChloeTai

1,443 posts

Posted by ChloeTai > 2023-06-13 17:15 | Report Abuse

I dare not add YLTPOWER yet. I need to wait YTL moves to the stable zone first. Now YTL is very choppy. This morning I thought YTL will move towards RM1 but it drops to RM0.935 instead.