YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

-0.18 (4.70%)

3.61 - 3.79

46 people like this.

31,972 comment(s). Last comment by SamyFccukMrsJeffrey 1 minute ago

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-11 13:20 | Report Abuse

Earnings of utility firms likely to be sustained
This could potentially ensure higher dividend payout for YTL Power (given the stronger profits and cash flow) to 15 sen a share (yielding 11.9%) in financial year 2024 to 2025 versus the house’s conservative assumption of only eight sen a share.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2023/07/11/earnings-of-utility-firms-likely-to-be-sustained

FY2024&25
YTL 9.5 sens
YTLP 15 sens

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-11 13:28 | Report Abuse

Better margins for RE players from lifting of export ban
https://www.nst.com.my/business/2023/07/929689/better-margins-re-players-lifting-export-ban

希望我国能快马加鞭,增加绿色能源的生产。
新加坡需要大量的绿色能源。
而印尼也在虎视眈眈这块蛋糕。

Work on Indonesia-Singapore floating solar farm in Batam to start next year
https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/work-on-indonesia-singapore-floating-solar-farm-in-batam-to-start-next-year

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-07-11 13:59 | Report Abuse

If people almost consider investing MYR 100 billion to bring electricity from Australia to Singapore....it will be a waste if Malaysia do not capture such opportunity / huge demand from Singapore.

https://www.rechargenews.com/energy-transition/billionaires-clash-as-21bn-australia-to-singapore-green-power-mega-plan-hits-rocks/2-1-1386409

No wonder YTL wanted to bid for Boustead Plantations...

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-07-11 17:13 | Report Abuse

that's right @probability.

When I first saw the news of these super rich people trying to bring in RE power all the way from Australia via some 5,000km under sea cables, I thought the project would be doomed to fail. Indeed, it did not take off as it did not make any business sense at all.

Where else can you bring in RE power to Singapore cheaper than from Peninsular Malaysia especially from Johor where you can just pull over a 50km overhead transmission line??

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-07-11 17:18 | Report Abuse

Apparently this Star article was reporting a research report from RHB on YTLPower. Has anyone got this RHB research report? Please PM me, thanks.
Posted by xiaochen > 3 hours ago | Report Abuse

Earnings of utility firms likely to be sustained
This could potentially ensure higher dividend payout for YTL Power (given the stronger profits and cash flow) to 15 sen a share (yielding 11.9%) in financial year 2024 to 2025 versus the house’s conservative assumption of only eight sen a share.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2023/07/11/earnings-of-utility-firms-likely-to-be-sustained

FY2024&25
YTL 9.5 sens
YTLP 15 sens

Invest_888

1,060 posts

Posted by Invest_888 > 2023-07-11 22:06 | Report Abuse

Great!! YTLP 15 cents dividend payment. When can get the 15 cents dividend.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-12 08:30 | Report Abuse

FY2024&FY2025
YTL 9.5 sens (assured by CEO of YTL)
YTLP 15 sens (based on local research report, for reference only, still unconfirmed)

Posted by stockprincess > 2023-07-12 09:42 | Report Abuse

@dragon328 Hi , it is taken from hong leong Utilities 2H23 Sector Outlook dated 10 July 2023. I have the report, where to find PM button?

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-07-12 10:55 | Report Abuse

@stockprincess, got the HL report, thanks

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-07-12 11:02 | Report Abuse

Hong Leong report mentioned about potential dividend of 15 sen per share for YTLPower for FY2024 and FY2025, guided by YTL chairman's forecast of RM1 billion dividend for YTL for FY24 & FY25. This is in line with my earlier calculations.

The report mentioned about PowerSeraya having secured cheap LNG supply for next 3 years. I am a bit wary of that, especially on the definition of "cheap". If the company secured it during the trough period of COVID in 2020-2021, then the LNG price then can be considered cheap and would cover generation for the 3 years to 2023-2024. If the company secured it after gas prices had recovered in 2022, then it might run some risks as crude oil and LNG prices may fall below its secured price in 2024-2025.

Anyway, for whatever LNG price it has secured, PowerSeraya should have hedged it against the retails contracts for next 2 years, ensuring good retails margin. The challenge may come in after the expiry of the 2-year retails contracts if LNG prices then drops significantly below its secured price.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-07-12 11:09 | Report Abuse

However, everything is relative in Singapore competitive market, whether or not PowerSeraya has secured cheap LNG prices for next 3 years. If other major players like Senoko and Tuas have also secured LNG prices at about the same price as PowerSeraya, then it won't make much difference in 2025-2026 as to how much LNG prices will be. Everyone will then be still on level playing ground, and the situation will come back to the tight market conditions again to determine the retails margin and wholesale electricity prices.

Until a new generating plant comes online in 2026, the supply market will remain tight.

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2023-07-12 11:26 | Report Abuse

And down to the plant(s) which have relatively lower BTUs /KWh to be more price-competitive than the rest !

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-07-12 14:21 | Report Abuse

@moncmondo87, yes it will then down to which plants having a lower BTU/kWh which depends on the efficiency of the plant itself and the fuel cost.

I suspect even when Keppel new gas plant comes online in 2026, it will not be much more competitive than existing CCGTs as hydrogen fuel will still be more expensive than LNG then.

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2023-07-12 17:22 | Report Abuse

Ya, the Big 3 with mainly CCGTs can meaningfully compete against the upcoming gen units 2026 onwards, for a few more years anyway. You also suggest, dragon328, Senoko Tuas and Seraya probaly have relatively similar fuel contracts in the midterm, so the fight for more mkt share will depend on their units' degradation and relative heat rates...

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-13 09:20 | Report Abuse

(吉隆坡11日讯)经济部长拉菲兹指出,能源转型路线图将涵盖价值250亿令吉国家项目,由私人界参与开发的首批10个国家旗舰能源转型项目将在7月27日揭晓。

“不过,取消再生能源出口禁令的细节(包括确切取消的日期)有待公布,预期需等到8月或月。

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20230712/%E8%83%BD%E6%BA%90%E8%BD%AC%E5%9E%8B10%E9%A1%B9%E7%9B%AE%E6%9C%88%E5%BA%95%E6%8F%AD%E7%9B%85-%E5%85%AC%E7%94%A8%E4%BA%8B%E4%B8%9A%E5%95%86%E6%9C%BA%E6%97%A0%E7%A9%B7/

VincentTang

1,214 posts

Posted by VincentTang > 2023-07-14 10:20 | Report Abuse

Bought YTLPOWER at 1.27

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-14 18:17 | Report Abuse

数码银行年尾面市 丰隆:与传统银行共荣共存
https://www.orientaldaily.com.my/news/business/2023/07/14/580075

OnTime

2,188 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-07-14 18:24 | Report Abuse

sooner than expected, hope for a smooth and profitable launch

OnTime

2,188 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-07-15 14:53 | Report Abuse

ytlp tp - rm2.05

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/674817

cktay

282 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-07-15 19:28 | Report Abuse

Anyone got more info on "Hiccups in barrierless toll rollout" .....theStar?
(YTL Power International Bhd owns a 60% stake in KJS via YTL Communications Sdn Bhd.)

cktay

282 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-07-16 07:05 | Report Abuse

…..The multi-lane free flow (MLFF) toll collection system, which comes after a very long wait, is expected to be operational nationwide by 2025.
……A source says toll concessionaires are unhappy that the previous government had made a deal with YTL-Konsortium Jaringan Selangor Sdn Bhd (KJS) to be the third-party toll collection company for all toll booths nationwide.
……YTL Power International Bhd owns a 60% stake in KJS via YTL Communications Sdn Bhd.
KJS
……The nationwide MLFF system is estimated to cost about RM3.46bil. There are 33 highways in Malaysia currently.

OnTime

2,188 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-07-16 08:41 | Report Abuse

greedy concessionaires!

hng33

20,308 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-07-17 11:14 | Report Abuse

MLFF system is estimated to cost about RM3.46bil, if YTLP successful implement, it will be good long term steady profit, diversifying it earning base to built up Malaysia business to include green data center and MLFF, avoid over dependent on singapore Power seraya and UK wessex water

cktay

282 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-07-17 12:42 | Report Abuse

Have to work out the profitability of MLFF. Can't wait for main stream analysts to work it out for you.
Looks like MLFF is already in place because some of the concessionaires are already using it.
But YTLPower had been quiet about it, most probably because of non-disclosure agreements.
Same with HSL, they have to sign non-disclosure agreements.
To me, I feel it .... A PLC must make immediate public disclosure of any material information. Information is considered material, if it is expected to have a material effect on the price, value or market activity of any of the PLC’s securities; or the decision of a holder of securities of the PLC or an investor in determining his choice of action.

cktay

282 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-07-17 12:50 | Report Abuse

BTW any one got info on how the Digital banking license is working out?
MLFF may be tied up with the digital banking part of YTLPower. Its main competitor is TNG which is owned by CIMB.
Personally I hardly go to the bank itself these days.

Posted by bullrun2025 > 2023-07-17 15:43 | Report Abuse

@xiaochen, what is your strategy for this ytlp, looks like keep dropping everyday

cktay

282 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-07-17 22:26 | Report Abuse

KJS, a Bumiputra Company .. established at the initiative of the Selangor State Government … existing Management Services Agreement with the Selangor State Government … coordinate planning, implementation and maintenance of the telecommunication infrastructure services in Selangor …. process all applications relating to telecommunication infrastructure development.
KJS is a license holder of both the Network Facilities Provider ("NFP") and Network Service Provider ("NSP") License issued by Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission ("MCMC").
In July 2019, KJS has extended its presence to Negeri Sembilan where KJS was appointed by the State of Negeri Sembilan
KJS have built, leased and managed more than 6,000 communication structures nationwide. In addition, through the 5G commercial launch by Digital National Berhad ("DNB"), KJS is working closely with DNB to rollout new telecommunication towers for the deployment of 5G infrastructure and services nationwide.
https://www.konsortiumjaringanselangor.com.my/aboutus

cktay

282 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-07-17 22:27 | Report Abuse

Apakah hubungan antara Kerajaan Negeri Selangor dan Digital Nasional Berhad berkaitan projek 5G di Selangor
5G DAN KONSORTIUM JARINGAN SELANGOR
http://dewan.selangor.gov.my/question/5g-dan-konsortium-jaringan-selangor/

hng33

20,308 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-07-18 09:29 | Report Abuse

YTLP is expect to acquire more Boustead estate in preparation to develop solar plant, targeted to export to Singapore to in line with Msia gov green energy roadmap for both local and export market, specific hub for green energy to export to Singapore. Detail should be announced by 27 July

26,786 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-07-18 09:31 | Report Abuse

Hard to believe Malay owned plantation will be sold to non Malay company. PAS & PN will make a lot noise

hng33

20,308 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-07-18 10:08 | Report Abuse

Boustead holding hold huge borrowing cost burden, can't declare dividend to its major shareholder LTAT which in turn need to meet pension payout for all retire soldier。 Boustead badly need to sell prime landbank in kulai to unlock value to meet its holding cash requirement。

Kulai landbank is overvalue if use only for palm cultivation, such prime land need to develop into high value added solar power plant, and export green power to lucrative energy market in Singapore.

It is bumi control company badly need cash, opt open tender for all bumi and non bumi to sell its landbank. Pick the highest bidder either bumi and non bumi to get maximum value is its best interest for LTAT and majority bumi pensioner.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-18 10:34 | Report Abuse

@bullrun2025 i invest YTLP mainly for its dividend payout. So, my strategy is waiting for the next QR to come out.
YTLP will remain lower share price mainly because of EPF still clearing his stake.

If EPF is keep selling 6m shares per trading day, means that EPF still got 200m shares ready to dispose. It still / just half way to go.

Posted by bullrun2025 > 2023-07-18 10:39 | Report Abuse

@xiaochen ok tq

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-18 10:40 | Report Abuse

When next QR is announced, hopefully i can get what i wish for.
So, i wont do anything before the coming QR.
And i tried to stay not too close to stock market.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-18 10:41 | Report Abuse

Welcome and all the best.

Posted by bullrun2025 > 2023-07-18 10:54 | Report Abuse

@xiaochen, u all in or average down to buy ytlp

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-18 11:16 | Report Abuse

“Latest electric bill is $170ish, which is insane… abnormal increase in energy consumption?” — Singaporeans report drastic spike in electric bill
https://theindependent.sg/latest-electric-bill-is-170ish-which-is-insane-abnormal-increase-in-energy-consumption-singaporeans-report-drastic-spike-in-electric-bill/

Seems like the refrigerator and air-corn will consume more electric when the weather is hotter even the usage is like before.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-18 11:20 | Report Abuse

@bullrun2025
40% of my stake bought @ RM 1.50
20% @ average down
40% @ Rm 1.32

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-18 11:26 | Report Abuse

My OEM Plan Is Expiring: Should I Switch Back To SP Group?
https://dollarsandsense.sg/oem-plan-expiring-switch-back-sp-group/

Posted by bullrun2025 > 2023-07-18 11:31 | Report Abuse

xiaochen, ok tq

Posted by PASSIVESTOCK > 2023-07-18 16:38 | Report Abuse

Macam mana u untung banyak ?market price now RM1.26 ur math betul tak ?

Posted by bullrun2025 > 2023-07-18 19:59 | Report Abuse

Sekarang YTLp sudah naik sampai rm1.80 ke?

myloh123

259 posts

Posted by myloh123 > 2023-07-18 23:23 | Report Abuse

Hahaha

Posted by PASSIVESTOCK > 2023-07-19 10:09 | Report Abuse

YTLP director kalau tau u support dia kawkaw dia kan seronok RM 1.4 juga cakap untung breakout apa juga tak jadi lagi

i4value

78 posts

Posted by i4value > 2023-07-19 10:19 |

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-07-19 20:32 | Report Abuse

Singapore looks elsewhere amid doubt over Indonesia's green power exports

https://www.thestar.com.my/aseanplus/aseanplus-news/2023/07/19/singapore-looks-elsewhere-amid-doubt-over-indonesia039s-green-power-exports#cxrecs_s

“We are closer to Singapore. Indonesia still has the opportunity [to capitalise on Singapore’s clean power demand], for now,” Fabby said, but he noted that, if the country did not act quickly, others would.

He said red tape would be holding Indonesia back unless the government did something to tackle it. “It could be a loss for us, we’d lose the opportunity to dominate the market,” Fabby said.

Furthermore, Malaysia, which is as close to Singapore as Indonesia, lifted its electricity export ban this year, two years after imposing it. The opportunity could help push the development of domestic renewable energy, including demand for industries producing components for clean energy, such as solar photovoltaic.

Maulida Rahma, renewable energy campaigner at Trend Asia, told the Post on Monday that exporting power from renewable sources should be done with caution, as many parts of Indonesia still lacked electricity, due in part to a lack of connections between grids in different regions of the country.

11,448 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-07-19 22:45 | Report Abuse

FBMKLCI index.
Looking at daily chart closing price, there is a double bottom at 1,373.
You can say it is almost bottom at 1.373.
I hope to see a new upcycle after August 2023, I also hope it is a long upcycle and a bull market for FBMKLCI after a long downtrend since July 2014.
I hope all investors will laugh all the way to the bank after August 2023.
Hopefully we can see a bull market in KLSE after a long bear market for almost 10 years since July 2014.
Good luck to all investors in I3.
Opportunity hits but once.
You should start to invest in KLSE, you will be rewarded handsomely in the next few years.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-07-20 08:48 | Report Abuse

Rupa-rupanya ada meraka yang berbahasa kongsikan pandangan mereka di sini. Saya menganggap Laporan suku tahun yang akan datang akan lebih hebat daripada yang dulu. Kerana sebab-sebab berikut:
1. Bidang elektrik. Sumbangan dari Singapore akan lebih hebat. Artikal-artikal yang saya paparkan teleh menunjukkan kegunaan elektrik semakin meningkat mulai Jan hingga Jun walau kegunaan elektrik adalah seperti biasa je. Tambahan pula sumbangan dari Jordan telah dirasmikan mulai 31 May 2023. Tambahan lagi, penukaran mata wang asing tak kira SGD, POUND, USD kian hari kian melemah.

2, Bidang pembekalan air. Mulai 1 april 2023, tarif air di England teleh meningkat sebanyak 7.5%.

3. Bidang pelaburan. Sumbangan atau kerugian tak begitu ketara buat sementara waktu ini.

4. Bidang Komunikasi. YES teleh mencatat kerugian 100m pada laporan suku tahun yang dahulu. Kerugian YES teleh menjadi kebiasaan bagi YTLP.

Kesimpulan, EPS bagi laporan suku yang akan datang, berkemungkinan besar akan lebih hebat daripada 6.41 sen.