YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

-0.18 (4.70%)

3.61 - 3.79

46 people like this.

32,045 comment(s). Last comment by jjohnchew 5 hours ago

Posted by David Gunter > 2023-11-19 07:23 | Report Abuse

Laughing all the way the way while sour grapes can only bark

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2023-11-19 07:27 | Report Abuse

Jeri! komon lah! buy the counter so that ur face wont be greenish when the counter is greenish!
haha

OnTime

2,188 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-11-19 08:07 | Report Abuse

i'm sure he will buy in simply because he ain't stupiid!

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2023-11-19 09:20 | Report Abuse

>2.40 2molo!!!????

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2023-11-19 14:02 |

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2023-11-19 14:02 | Report Abuse

there is a term for it
some call it "momentum trading"
stocks that are going up will tend to go up a bit more.
Your profits is from the "a bit more" and must be "unlimited",
only sell when it drops more than 10% from peak.

example Genting peak 5.00 so you should have sold at 4.50
if you did that you wun be crying now.
8 hours ago

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2023-11-19 14:03 |

11,457 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-11-19 14:58 |

26,790 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-11-19 15:06 | Report Abuse

Gaduh gaduh gaduh tak henti
Ni dah mcm Israel vs Palestine

OnTime

2,188 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-11-19 15:08 | Report Abuse

well, it takes 2 hands to clap

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2023-11-19 15:18 |

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-11-19 16:09 | Report Abuse

@chessgame99, as said before, I expect YTLPower Q1 FY2024 net profit to comfortably beat RM700 million. I hope it can reach RM800 million a quarter or RM3.2 billion for FY2024. That would justify a valuation of RM4.00 in 2024 based on 10x PER.

When to take profit? I don't know. My entry price is around RM0.70, I don't really care much about the paper gain really. As long as the company earnings and cashflows remain strong and there is continued growth, I see no reason in letting go of my holdings on YTL Power. As I expect YTLPower operating cashflows to be over 40 sen a share every year going forward, and dividend to be over 12-15 sen p.a., with my low entry cost, I will enjoy dividend yields of 15% to 20% p.a. for my YTLP holdings for years to come. That will beat any fixed deposit rates or bond yields, why should I sell then?

I just cite an example to illustrate the benefits of long term investment on good companies with growth potential. Take McDonalds as a classic case. If you invested US$1,000 in the IPO of McDonalds in 1965 and held onto it for 33 years until 1999, your investment would have ballooned to a value of US$15,700,000 or 15,700 times! Had you held onto it a few years longer to 2005, your investment value would have grown to over US$30 million for a total gain of 30,000 times in 40 years. That was a compounded growth rate of about 22% p.a. for 40 years.

Closer to home, if you invested in YTL Corp or Public Bank in early 1980s and held on for 20 years to 1998, you would have seen your investment value expanded by 30 times.

Of course, every investor has different time horizon for investment returns. Most will sell off after seeing a quick 50% or 100% gain as they are afraid of share price correction or they see better opportunities in other stocks. To me there is no right or wrong, you may just take whatever strategy that suits your own financial goals.

I may take some profit off YTLP when its share price rises too fast beyond RM5.00 and when I see opportunity in another good stock that may give me higher returns in long runs. Before that, I shall just continue collecting 15%-20% dividend yields every year as good passive income to fund my living and office expenses.

Good luck to all.

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2023-11-19 16:36 | Report Abuse

very informative! thanks for ur thots! certainly will now hold very much longer

klee

3,399 posts

Posted by klee > 2023-11-19 17:00 | Report Abuse

Another important aspect of being a successful investor is make sure you are born in the right country.Hahaha.

I just cite an example to illustrate the benefits of long term investment on good companies with growth potential. Take McDonalds as a classic case. If you invested US$1,000 in the IPO of McDonalds in 1965 and held onto it for 33 years until 1999, your investment would have ballooned to a value of US$15,700,000 or 15,700 times! Had you held onto it a few years longer to 2005, your investment value would have grown to over US$30 million for a total gain of 30,000 times in 40 years. That was a compounded growth rate of about 22% p.a. for 40 years.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-11-19 17:38 | Report Abuse

thanks dragon328 for the confidence

jenson68

1,210 posts

Posted by jenson68 > 2023-11-19 18:12 | Report Abuse

@dragon328 boost up our confident to hold and falling in love longer !! Gems of the year

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2023-11-19 18:25 | Report Abuse

yaloh! how not to hold longer when the ahmoi is sooooo beautiful!!!
haha

OnTime

2,188 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-11-19 18:40 | Report Abuse

hold so long ahmoi also becomes ahsoh liao!

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2023-11-19 18:43 | Report Abuse

never mind as long as ahsoh brings $$$!!!!
haha

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2023-11-19 19:21 | Report Abuse

Mr dragon reminds me of Warren Buffett core investment holdings of Coca cola,. Gillette and Disney. Nothing glamorous but all daily consumer usage

11,457 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-11-19 23:11 | Report Abuse

Dear dragon328,
The below link will help to answer your question.
https://finance.yahoo.com/news/opportunity-ytl-power-international-berhads-022543455.html

Good luck.

teknikal

184 posts

Posted by teknikal > 2023-11-19 23:19 | Report Abuse

@dragon and @otb, buy YTL or YTLPower better? or whack both?

11,457 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-11-19 23:22 | Report Abuse

Dear teknikal,
I focus on YTLPower more.
I recommended both YTLPower and YTL to all my followers.

OnTime

2,188 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-11-20 08:16 | Report Abuse

one is a tortoise and the other one is a hare, both run in the same direction

Ravi Kumar

3,630 posts

Posted by Ravi Kumar > 2023-11-20 08:17 | Report Abuse

Thank you OTB. It is a buying opportunity that presents itself once in a while. Of course cannot compare to the money we made during the lockdown. :)

Dear dragon328,
https://finance.yahoo.com/news/opportunity-ytl-power-international-berhads-022543455.html

Good luck.

8 hours ago

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-11-20 08:54 | Report Abuse

Good morning, Mr. OTB.

Thanks for the link on Yahoo finance valuation on YTL Power. That shows clearly YTLP is under-valued based on DCF methodology, inline with what I have been saying about the strong cashflows of the company.

teknikal

184 posts

Posted by teknikal > 2023-11-20 09:06 | Report Abuse

@tortoise, which one is the rabbit? lol

jeffchan1901

1,402 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2023-11-20 10:06 | Report Abuse

Thanks OTB, very informative indeed.

Dear dragon328,

Good luck.

cgtan2020

684 posts

Posted by cgtan2020 > 2023-11-20 10:25 | Report Abuse

https://www.tradingview.com/x/sSjXTZ87/

Need a pause before moving up to 2.50

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-11-20 10:55 | Report Abuse

Francis just gave an interview on Bloomberg asia

Alex Chua

164 posts

Posted by Alex Chua > 2023-11-20 11:30 | Report Abuse

@probility any link on the bloomberg playback?

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-11-20 11:34 | Report Abuse

@probability, mind sharing the link for the interview?

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-11-20 11:36 | Report Abuse

link has not come out on any website...as it just happened..may bloomberg may have a website...dont know how to find it

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2023-11-20 11:41 | Report Abuse

i seems like the interviewer trying to get hints on HSR bidding but Francis keeping his lip sealed..i only saw half way...no new information..

he seems very optimistic with YTL & YTLP...

with such interview i doubt the earnings results will be below expectation..or at the least price will not drop after results (whatever it is)...this is my main take away

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-11-20 11:49 | Report Abuse

thanks for the update @probability

cgtan2020

684 posts

Posted by cgtan2020 > 2023-11-20 12:41 | Report Abuse

Anyone know the date of the quarterly result announcements?

cgtan2020

684 posts

Posted by cgtan2020 > 2023-11-20 12:42 | Report Abuse

@probability thank you so much for the video link

i3raymond

248 posts

Posted by i3raymond > 2023-11-20 14:09 | Report Abuse

q1(19)- 23/11
q1(20)-26/11
q1(21)-25/11
q1(22)-24/11

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-11-20 14:21 | Report Abuse

@probability, thanks for the video link.

As usual, Francis Yeoh did not give away much even when pressed by the Bloomberg journalists. We can see that foreign funds are pretty much interested to know about the growth potential of the YTL group, especially on KL-Singapore HSR project, 5G business expansion, green data centre, digital bank and potential M&A deals.

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2023-11-20 15:19 | Report Abuse

i3raymond, Actually q1FY21 - announced 26Nov20, q1FY22 - announced 25Nov21, q1FY23 - announced 24Nov22. All 3 announcement dates fall on Thursdays...

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2023-11-20 15:22 | Report Abuse

dragon328, Recall HSR Project's RFI process deadline postponed by two months; so some time in Jan 2024 I think

Posted by chessgame99 > 2023-11-20 16:26 | Report Abuse

Rebalancing the portfolio is what i am considering and surprising, I am actually considering what a stock you mention ie sell ytlp and buy PB bank

Posted by chessgame99 > 2023-11-20 16:27 | Report Abuse

Hi Dragon328, Thanks for answering my post. I am expecting a bit more profit than you for Q1 2024. Maybe i am over estimating... my low end estimate is actually 800m MYR and i view it is should be closer to 1bn like last quarter ... I agree with what you are saying . Well, i have rather optimistic projections for YTLP as well but am a bit more cautious for Q2 /Q3 2024. I have a view that some headwinds have been building up.. and the projections should be more flattish or dovish from Q3 2024 onward.

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2023-11-20 16:54 | Report Abuse

Saw the bloomberg interview and also read the yahoo finance article. Though i dont expect ytlp to hit 4.90 anytime soon but i m holding for at least anither 4quarters for the dividends

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2023-11-20 20:24 |

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2023-11-20 20:25 |