14 people like this.

557 comment(s). Last comment by VenFx 2019-03-16 17:47

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-10 20:43 | Report Abuse

y Connie555 > Mar 10, 2019 04:50 PM | Report Abuse

Ricky, Choivo, KC all have similar traits
==========

spot on. A few more in the camp. Don't know why but its not a coincidence they all call themselves Value Investors.......

I don't see any contrarian investors in the camp, Don't see anyone with a big Q in the camp, only see scared scared players in the camp.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-03-10 20:46 | Report Abuse

You know you're in good company, when quack quack quack criticizes you.

If qqq3 ever says that my article is good, i would panic, and ask people if i suddenly turn stupid or what.

Hahaha

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-10 20:49 | Report Abuse

Choivo Capital > Mar 10, 2019 08:46 PM | Report Abuse

If qqq3 ever says that my article is good
========

u belong to the scared scared group....If that is good, its your value.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-10 20:57 | Report Abuse

Choivo Capital > Mar 10, 2019 08:46 PM | Report Abuse

If qqq3 ever says that my article is good
========

u belong to the scared scared group....If that is good, its your value and condemned to average performance, if lucky.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 21:44 | Report Abuse

read 20% already need to go toilet 3 times. Really long winded...

damn it

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-03-10 21:45 | Report Abuse

i never read any of his long winded story...after intro and some headings in the middle...i straight away go to the conclusion....

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 21:46 | Report Abuse

oh my god... Grand Ah Whoom, what the heck is that ? do you really need to add something like that for an investment article ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 21:48 | Report Abuse

ok...now I am going to toilet for fourth time...

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-03-10 21:49 | Report Abuse

What is this Grand Ah-Whoom! moment?

Imagine this. Put a tray of water into your freezer and the temperature drops to the threshold of freezing. The water remains a liquid until—ah-whoom—it suddenly turns into ice. Just a small incremental change in temperature leads to a change from liquid to solid.

Jon..is a chemistry professor also now!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 21:54 | Report Abuse

I finally finished reading. But no freaking idea what he is trying to say

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-03-10 21:55 | Report Abuse

actually its not a small incremental change in temperature...but heat transfer..temperature is almost constant throughout freezing

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-03-10 21:58 | Report Abuse

yes the rankine cycle

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-03-10 21:59 | Report Abuse

Hahaha.

I guess I really should get to the point faster.

But I felt that was key to understanding the "Why" and "how".

Oh well. Let's see.

newbie5354_

1,284 posts

Posted by newbie5354_ > 2019-03-10 22:01 | Report Abuse

Choivo Capital can I ask you question? Since when OTB recommended Dayang? Can you provide link or blog?

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-03-10 22:01 | Report Abuse

Jon, i would be your dedicated reader and top commentator if only you could squeeze all your articles in not more than 2 A4 size page.

thank you

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 22:03 | Report Abuse

the problem with accountants is that gives them a bit of info, they cook up a whole set of theory

Jon is like that, qqq3 is like that

philosophical, but not hard-hitting

engineers are different, they painstakingly put together information to form a working model closely mirroring real life operating conditions. They treat complicated systems (such as stock market) as a giant machinery (in this case, consuming information). Pull the right levels, press the right buttons, then you will get the right outcome. Emphasis is on precision, instead of vague concepts. That is how people like probability operates

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-03-10 22:07 | Report Abuse

Oh Icon8888...you made my day!...thanks from bottom of my heart!

you described it very well..

Posted by Icon8888 > Mar 10, 2019 10:03 PM | Report Abuse

the problem with accountants is that gives them a bit of info, they cook up a whole set of theory

Jon is like that, qqq3 is like that

philosophical, but not hard-hitting

engineers are different, they painstakingly put together information to form a working model closely mirroring real life operating conditions. They treat complicated systems (such as stock market) as a giant machinery (in this case, consuming information). Pull the right levels, press the right buttons, then you will get the right outcome. Emphasis is on precision, instead of vague concepts. That is how people like probability operates

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 22:07 | Report Abuse

dont believe me ? go back and read Jon's infamous article about how Jaks' power plant will loss money in the next twenty five years.

based on few tiny bits and pieces of info, he dreamed up a financial model and cash flow projections that extrapolates into the next twenty five years

from that article, I size up Jon Choivo, and tells myself this guy has a major flaw in his intellect

Posted by Icon8888 > Mar 10, 2019 10:03 PM | Report Abuse X

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 22:08 | Report Abuse

because I myself was a bloody engineer

electronics

cheers

Posted by probability > Mar 10, 2019 10:07 PM | Report Abuse

Oh Icon8888...you made my day!...thanks from bottom of my heart!

you described it very well..

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-03-10 22:09 | Report Abuse

Icon8888,

In highly complex, reflexive and chaotic systems like the market, I don't think it makes sense to aim for precision.

Kyy saying he is buying now, versus him saying the same thing 5 years from now, will have very different effects.

It would be better to have a mental model, and a deep understanding of first principles, incentives, human nature etc

And then from there analyse what is going on.

I admire conscientiousness and the goal to have a very high confidence level. But I think, often the chase to get new information, to be more precise, is often a futile or low utility activity.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-03-10 22:11 | Report Abuse

If it was so easy to build a working model that closely mirrors the market.

Mathematicians, engineers and computer science graduates, will be incredibly rich by now.

Make no mistake, the rise of algorithm trading means many get great salaries.

But they don't beat the index, because other people are doing the same thing as well, changing the dynamics of the market.

21,644 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2019-03-10 22:12 | Report Abuse

This time,I like Connie's view. Connie,like,love,Lisa for you

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 22:13 | Report Abuse

yes, it is true, it is complicated

that is why probability wi never write an article like what you did

because he knows there is not sufficient information to construct a meaningful model

you are different, you plow ahead, feeding rubbish into your machine and getting rubbish out of it

Posted by Choivo Capital > Mar 10, 2019 10:09 PM | Report Abuse

Icon8888,

In highly complex, reflexive and chaotic systems like the market, I don't think it makes sense to aim for precision.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-03-10 22:22 | Report Abuse

Icon8888,

How do you mean?

By the way, this mental model or concept. I learnt it from Micheal mouboussin. It made alot of sense for me when it comes to understanding certain things.

Siapa tu? One of the heads of legg Mason capital, the only fund to beat the market for 15 years consecutively. A 1 in 2.3million possibility event.

Dude was probably just lucky. And angmoh theory don't work in klse!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 22:25 | Report Abuse

Read your above comments again, dude

Are you proud of them ?

Does that sound like somebody that has the maturity that probability should trust his hard earned 200k with ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-03-10 22:25 | Report Abuse

Nevemind, it is bed time....

Goodnight everybody

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2019-03-10 22:32 | Report Abuse

Phil,i have to agree with you this time.If choivo kiddo has no solid results to show to anyone over a period of at least 5 yrs,he should shut the f up.Wakakaka.This is i3 ,boy.We look at results.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-03-10 22:37 | Report Abuse

Did you even read ah, by my estimate, there is an IRR of roughly 11% on the cash paid.

But if i were to make one based on information given by KYY, it wasnt. Whether or not he say wrong or not, i have no idea.

Sometimes i wonder if klse traders got a few screws loose or something. Seem highly logical, before whacking a weird statement out of nowhere.

====
Posted by Icon8888 > Mar 10, 2019 10:07 PM | Report Abuse

dont believe me ? go back and read Jon's infamous article about how Jaks' power plant will loss money in the next twenty five years.

based on few tiny bits and pieces of info, he dreamed up a financial model and cash flow projections that extrapolates into the next twenty five years

from that article, I size up Jon Choivo, and tells myself this guy has a major flaw in his intellect

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2019-03-10 22:40 | Report Abuse

Icon8888,go for prostste surgery,you need it.

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2019-03-10 22:46 | Report Abuse

Icon8888,i thought you once said you were a gynie.Since when electronics engineer started doing gynie stuff?

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-03-10 22:57 | Report Abuse

(Icon) My First Blog Article

Author: Icon8888 | Publish date: Wed, 5 Mar 2014, 07:40 PM

This will be the first time in my life I post in a blog.

I joined i3 few months ago and had benefited tremendously from the resources it makes available to me. I would like to make i3 even better by contributing my knowledge, analysis and opinion. Hopefully one day it will become a depository of knowledge which will benefit everybody.

I am capable of being very long winded. In order to make my blog readable, I will discipline myself to write only the essentials.

almost exactly 5 years ago...look how humble and considerate Icon was...he even foreseen that on the first posting... to keep his articles only to the essential that conveys a meaning which is potent.

Jon.... Icon is completely opposite of you in terms of humbleness and how he delivers his message.

i3 is really thankful to get a precious gift like him

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-03-10 23:00 | Report Abuse

incredibly far sighted

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-03-10 23:12 | Report Abuse

Hi guys

Give brother Jonathan Choivo a break ok

He is a budding Warren Buffet in theory now

Someday, he might even beat ColdEye

Posted by John Lu > 2019-03-10 23:22 | Report Abuse

Still keep fighting? Tomorrow Dayang above rm1. 70

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-03-11 00:55 | Report Abuse

problem is with losers like jon choivo the more he lose out, the louder he gets.

If he stays humble, keeps quiet, gets in some good long term results and then says what he wants, charge investors 5K, promotes his ideas over other people I have zero issue.

But his hubris does not match with his results.

Not. At. All.

John_Lee

468 posts

Posted by John_Lee > 2019-03-11 01:34 | Report Abuse

This article is a finger diarrhea. Lots of words, lots of trying to sound sophisticated, lots of trying to be knowledageable etc. but has no substance, no accuracy, no supporting facts and no value to anyone who reads it.

This article is an attention seeking attempt by the author.

An absolute waste of time.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 02:52 | Report Abuse

see, I am not the only one who sees no value in the article

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 02:53 | Report Abuse

no need 1000 articles.... got the share or not? how many? at what cost?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 02:54 | Report Abuse

if don't have, smart to jump in now or not?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 03:00 | Report Abuse

even the title is presumptuous...This is one billion shares company....so what u mean by trading around somebody?

and how many did the two individuals buy anyway? U know meh?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 03:04 | Report Abuse

But I tell u what..............they say buy low sell high....but what is high and low?

There is a better modified version, buy low volume , sell high volume. On Friday, it was 90 million shares done worth $ 135 million, setting some sort of record...... Smart of not to jump in now? No other share to buy already?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 03:16 | Report Abuse

no bad, some thing to think about besides Dayang....

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-03-11 03:57 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Mar 10, 2019 08:43 PM | Report Abuse
y Connie555 > Mar 10, 2019 04:50 PM | Report Abuse
Ricky, Choivo, KC all have similar traits
==========
spot on. A few more in the camp. Don't know why but its not a coincidence they all call themselves Value Investors.......

I don't see any contrarian investors in the camp, Don't see anyone with a big Q in the camp, only see scared scared players in the camp.

quack quack quack, as a 60+ years old retiree with your kind of mentality, not to say your extremely shallow knowledge or rather non-existent knowledge in investing, you are no way close to the capability of those two young men. So, if I were you, I would just keep quiet, instead of personally attacking them.

Look at you this two years, quack quack quack the whole day and everyday in i3investor, what positive value have you brought?

I say you brought in huge negative value to i3investor community, like conning the newbies and youngsters, ask them to use margin and sailang on your Jaks and Sendai at peak prices, while you collaborated and sold to them and made killings. You said that.

Zhuge_Lin

441 posts

Posted by Zhuge_Lin > 2019-03-11 08:11 | Report Abuse

The price performance smell like a Pyramid scheme to me. I saw the below acticle in Hengyuan back then before it crash boom and bang and thought it is timely to share it here. Of course, in every scheme, those make money will always trumpet his victory while those burn will alway keep silent while lickin its wound. Ego eh! So those make money which is handful of them is enough to continue to lure these lemming to jump off the cliff. The cycle shall repeat again.

"One day a merchant came to the village to buy these monkeys! He announced that he is seeking to buy monkeys @ $100 each. The villagers thought that this man is crazy to want to buy stray monkeys at $100 each.

Only few people caught some monkeys and sold them to merchant at $100 each. This went on for few days attracting more sellers.

After a few days, the merchant returned to announce that he will now pay $200 for each monkey. Even the lazy villagers got off their behinds to catch the remaining monkeys! And they were paid twice at $200 per monkey.

The merchant returned to the village after a few days to announce that the village monkeys are very much liked by his ‘potential customers’, therefore the price he was willing to pay for each monkey is now a whopping $500!!

The villagers started to lose sleep! After searching every tree and monkey hiding place thoroughly, they were able to find only six or seven monkeys, which was all that was left and were paid $500 each.

The villagers went to all the neighboring villages to find monkeys in case the merchant returned for more monkeys at even higher price. However they had very little luck finding a single monkey.

As expected and hoped, the merchant returned to announce he is planning to return in a week to buy more monkeys - this time at the unbelievable price of $1000!!! He also asked the villagers to help his employee take care of the monkeys he bought so far until he returns.

The villagers were very sad as there were no more monkeys left for them to sell for $1000 each. His employee employee, however, offered to make a secret deal with them selling part of the inventory for $700 per monkey to the villagers.

This seemed like a great news to the villagers. They figured they can’t go wrong making riskless $300 profit from each monkey they sell back to the merchant.

The next day, villagers lined up near the monkey cage. The employee sold all the monkeys at $700 each. The rich bought monkeys in large lots, while the poor borrowed money from money lenders and purchased fewer monkeys.

The villagers then took care of their monkeys & waited for the merchant to return. But he never did! Then they tried to find his employee. But he had disappeared too!

The villagers then realized that they have bought the useless stray monkeys @ $700 each and are unable to resell them!"

madcow

526 posts

Posted by madcow > 2019-03-11 09:38 | Report Abuse

good jokes. But those villagers is still counting the money now, they won't listen to your story now

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 09:59 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz > Mar 11, 2019 03:57 AM | Report Abuse

quack quack quack
===========

kc...u and your gang quote here quote there can make money meh? Your gang member calvin getting more adventurous these days. Good for him. Looking for trends, looking for trend plays, looking for what people wants....but I must also add a bit too imaginative for my taste.

want to do proper investing? Learn from Philips

want to look for the fastest running horse? maybe KYY has a point.....

quote here quote there no use.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 10:02 | Report Abuse

kc

quote here quote there for what?

the market is looking for recovery stocks....give them recovery stock la......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-11 10:10 | Report Abuse

kc

quote here quote there for what?

the market is looking for recovery stocks....give them recovery stock la......

but finally its S =Q r

no Q no use.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-03-11 10:32 | Report Abuse

You're right. You should stay quiet instead of calling everything textbook theory when you don't understand the theory itself. I know I know, you will say so much theory can make money or not. Nonetheless, it is amazing someone can dismiss a theory as useless when he didn't understand it in the first place.