YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

+0.01 (0.27%)

3.65 - 3.74

46 people like this.

32,128 comment(s). Last comment by Antifanaticracism 7 minutes ago

klee

3,409 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-02-07 12:53 | Report Abuse

rr88 u keep trying ya...4...4.5...5....5.5 etc
one day you will be right,meanwhile just padan muka

Agjl

5,747 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2024-02-07 13:00 | Report Abuse

Chon99…no worries my fren… no need to apologise. Sometime we get kan cheong and miatead and misundertood…i m a long term holder of the group since last June. Sometimes its a struggle to filter all the negative noises. Just need to stay cool….and wait for RM5. Cheers!

Ravi Kumar

3,633 posts

Posted by Ravi Kumar > 2024-02-07 13:03 | Report Abuse

LOL if rr88 so called made millions then even we put a kerbau in front of the screen, the kerbau will make billions LOL

klee

rr88 i3 embarrassment,your agak2 is biasa wrong again,even a monkey throw dart is better..lol..go talk down other lapsap stks if u r smart...trying to talk down the KING of bursa just show your naivety

18 minutes ago

Agjl

5,747 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2024-02-07 13:04 | Report Abuse

Sasword….i can see and feel that u are so sour missing the gem and trying to talk it down so u can buy cheap…..wish u all the best sour grape

KLV868

242 posts

Posted by KLV868 > 2024-02-07 13:14 | Report Abuse

Hooray & Cheers!!!!
Door #4 is now open. Let's aim to close it firmly behind us and proceed towards door #5. Best of luck to all YTL believers on this onward journey!

Posted by Abcdefg123456789 > 2024-02-07 13:29 | Report Abuse

Rr88 even toss a coin to predict a stock up or down still better than your prediction
Just stfu toxic trash

TeamRocket

4,633 posts

Posted by TeamRocket > 2024-02-07 14:47 | Report Abuse

Operator very smart, by pushing down and up again, already make another round of moneh, if don’t push down, straight to rm5 then only earn once, but to push up and down many times, they earn more time, very good move

TeamRocket

4,633 posts

Posted by TeamRocket > 2024-02-07 14:48 | Report Abuse

But sometimes I too busy to buy and sell so, personally I hope the operator push good good, Eventhought down and up don’t bother me because I nvr sell or buy more but it still abit heart disturbing

chon99

1,510 posts

Posted by chon99 > 2024-02-07 14:49 | Report Abuse

Agjl,
Cheers !
Very nice of you.
Wish you a happy and prosperous Chinese New Year.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-02-07 15:07 | Report Abuse

GBP1.00 = RM6.01
SGD1.00 = RM3.55

Looks like YTLPower earnings for Q3FY2024 will get a further boost.

2,003 posts

Posted by 2721 > 2024-02-07 15:08 | Report Abuse

Left hand to right hand, shark shark always like that..now right hand go back to left hand, just enjoy the ride guys..

TeamRocket

4,633 posts

Posted by TeamRocket > 2024-02-07 15:25 | Report Abuse

When qr result coming out?

klee

3,409 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-02-07 15:41 | Report Abuse

rr88,4.5 can short or not? wakaka

Posted by Raymond Tiruchelvam > 2024-02-07 15:46 | Report Abuse

QR - 23 Feb ...... if all goes well

Posted by Abcdefg123456789 > 2024-02-07 15:51 | Report Abuse

Let me guess more a while
Rr88 will claim he buy at rm3.97 sell at 4.03
Then start to bullshit this counter will drop again

beinvested

2,445 posts

Posted by beinvested > 2024-02-07 16:28 | Report Abuse

How those at RM4.03 just now being bought was very honorable.

Can keep for this counter. Higher price will come. If one had believed and have bought at RM1 or RM2 then.

klee

3,409 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-02-07 16:53 | Report Abuse

rr88 another day another padan muka,why you never learn?
you last in class ? lolz

Agjl

5,747 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2024-02-07 16:54 | Report Abuse

Dragon328….my fren..wana ask u a hypothetical question….it has been in my mind for a while but i cant seem to come to a conclusion..perhaps can get your opinions and will make a decision…

What would u do if one day ytlp hit RM5. Which i think its quite possible. Would u sell all or sell half and enjoy the dividends for the other half? Or u will have other plan? Mind to share what would u do?

Agjl

5,747 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2024-02-07 16:56 | Report Abuse

Chon99…thank u for your wishes. Also wish u and all the comrades here have a very fruitful years ahead and the best of health and 事事顺利

beinvested

2,445 posts

Posted by beinvested > 2024-02-07 17:09 | Report Abuse

新年快乐
年年有余
万事如意

Ravi Kumar

3,633 posts

Posted by Ravi Kumar > 2024-02-07 17:09 | Report Abuse

The F22 Raptor blasted the triangle up .... rr88's .....

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2024-02-07 17:20 | Report Abuse

What would u do if one day ytlp hit RM5. Which i think its quite possible. ……

Aiyoh! MrFox has been whispering Revised TP = 5.50 !!!!!!
You dun believe the words of wisdom!!!??
haha

jeffchan1901

1,402 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2024-02-07 17:20 | Report Abuse

@Agjl, funny i was thinking about the same question too the other day.

I came to conclusion that when the day comes and the price hits rm5.15, assuming no change in dividend payout, I would roughly have paper gain equivalent to approximately 114 years of forward dividend immediately.

I would then diversify all my YTLP portfolio park all proceeds in EPF and max my dividend.

Meanwhile I would wait for next opportunity to buy YTLP on the dip again.

Posted by Abcdefg123456789 > 2024-02-07 17:22 | Report Abuse

@draogon328
What your tp for ytlpowr until this year end ?

jeffchan1901

1,402 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2024-02-07 17:24 | Report Abuse

Unless YTLP issues bonus issues like previously in 2014, 2017, 2020. So based on this will they also issue Treasury shares soon? Who knows.

Yezzy99108

404 posts

Posted by Yezzy99108 > 2024-02-07 17:49 | Report Abuse

a true investment muti bagger gem - rock solid, resilient, and keep challenging the norm. Gonna explode higher

Yezzy99108

404 posts

Posted by Yezzy99108 > 2024-02-07 17:51 | Report Abuse

Am sure CNY came early for everyone here.

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2024-02-07 17:55 | Report Abuse

CNY came early for everyone here.???
more to come leh!!!!!
you dun believe words of wisdom!!!????
haha

Apple888

728 posts

Posted by Apple888 > 2024-02-07 17:58 | Report Abuse

CNY eve...full day trading, ytl power treat u eat empurau

Yezzy99108

404 posts

Posted by Yezzy99108 > 2024-02-07 18:04 | Report Abuse

Gong Hei Fatt Choy! Super Huat to everyone with vested interest here :p

Mabel

23,939 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2024-02-07 19:14 | Report Abuse

#MrFox What would u do if one day ytlp hit RM5. Which i think its quite possible. ……

Aiyoh! MrFox has been whispering Revised TP = 5.50 !!!!!!
You dun believe the words of wisdom!!!??
haha
07/02/2024 5:20 PM

Of course Mabel believe...

Nvidia = YTL power

Nvidia's stock has surged threefold in the last year, propelled by heightened demand for its GPUs and the expansion of artificial intelligence and data centre markets. In its most recent quarterly earnings, Nvidia reported a 3x increase in revenue and 12x increase in net profit year-on-year.

If Nvidia can do, so can YTL Power

Meow Meow Meow

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2024-02-07 19:18 | Report Abuse

Ytlpwr = rm 12
Ranhill = rm 5
Iwcity = rm 4

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2024-02-07 19:31 | Report Abuse

thosw who believe the words of wisdom are
usually with big content of gray matters!
usually jntelligent with high IQ !!!!
haha

Apple888

728 posts

Posted by Apple888 > 2024-02-07 20:15 | Report Abuse

Wah...sgd 3.55...ytl power earn kow kow

MOBAjobg

327 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2024-02-07 20:47 | Report Abuse

NVDA stock price was usd407.76 on Oct 31st, 2023 and usd682.28 on Feb 6th, 2024.
So, let me suggest that YTLp stock price can take-off from rm4.04 to rm6.8+ eventually.
Those who have high IQ can read between the lines of my hidden thought that is difficult for me to describe in detail.

darrenliew

989 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2024-02-07 20:51 | Report Abuse

Palantir is poised to surge 80% as the company remains an 'undiscovered gem' of the AI boom, Wedbush says
Yuheng Zhan Feb 7, 2024, 1:34 AM GMT+8

Save
Read in app

darrenliew

989 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2024-02-07 20:54 | Report Abuse

AI boom the driving force for stellar growth in business N profits will greatly benefit YTLPOWR Data Centre TIE-UP with Nvidia

MOBAjobg

327 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2024-02-07 21:06 | Report Abuse

@darrenliew
I ask myself The question.
Which stock to invest 20% of my total funds in the month of Nov 2022, … META or PLTR stock.
The answer was so easy to make then and the rest is history now.

darrenliew

989 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2024-02-07 21:22 | Report Abuse

OF COURSE FOR THE IMMEDIATE NEXT FEW QUARTERLY RESULTS YTLPOWR WILL CONTINUE TO REPORT INCREASING PROFITS DUE TO THE BIG PROFIT CONTRIBUTIONS FROM SINGAPORESERAYA POWER SUBSIDIARY ESPECIALLY WITH THE SIGNIFICANTLY HIGHER SGD/RM FX REACHING 3.55
THE COMING 2Q RESULTS ON 23/2/24 WILL BE VERY GOOD

Mabel

23,939 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2024-02-07 21:30 | Report Abuse

MOBAjobg @darrenliew
I ask myself The question.
Which stock to invest 20% of my total funds in the month of Nov 2022, … META or PLTR stock.
The answer was so easy to make then and the rest is history now.
07/02/2024 9:06 PM

Mabel has been following Nvidia since Covid 19. Never interested in it as it link to crypto as Mabel think it is speculative and it is fluctuating. Nvidia was then a proxy to Cryto. It was only due to Generative AI, data centre and gaming that Nvidea rockets. Meta was a about dream while AI is about efficiency just like internet. It makes lives easy for everyone.

So efficiency drives the business. Nvidia's stock has surged threefold in the last year, propelled by heightened demand for its GPUs and the expansion of artificial intelligence and data centre markets. In its most recent quarterly earnings, Nvidia reported a 3x increase in revenue and 12x increase in net profit year-on-year.

To Our Success!

Meow Meow Meow

26,804 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-02-07 21:38 | Report Abuse

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/695620
PH game over?

cktay

282 posts

Posted by cktay > 2024-02-07 21:51 | Report Abuse

I checked out Wessex accounts from 2007 till 2023.
£89m (2007) £95m (2008) £93m (2009) £112m (2010) £115m (2011) £93m (2012) £107m (2013) £169m (2014) £140m (2015) £164m (2016) £146m (2017) £133m (2018) £110m (2019) £66m (2020) £67m (2021) £-44 (2022) £-11m (2023)
Hi Dragon, Need some input. Can you please explain why Wessex’s profits rose to its highest at £169m in 2014, then dropped until £-44 in 2022 and £-11m 2023. What actually happened?
You have now projected it to recover to £100m profit. 👍 What are your reasons for this anticipated recovery? Thanks in advance.

MOBAjobg

327 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2024-02-07 23:01 | Report Abuse

@Mabel
NVDA stock price made a big move first because of LLMs inference from its H100 chip that usher in the chatGPT moment, a partnership between OpenAI and Microsoft.
Those with high IQ would discover soon enough that the H100 chips are supplied by NVidia and is expected to generate huge profits.
Generative AI came after a couple of months later.

Mabel

23,939 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2024-02-07 23:02 | Report Abuse

Noted and thanks MOBAjobg

NVDA is up tonight...trading at USD 689....

To USD 700 with loves

Meow Meow Meow

wkc5657

287 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2024-02-07 23:21 | Report Abuse

why no reach 3.50 T_T

I want to load more with lower average price......

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-02-07 23:29 | Report Abuse

@cktay, I think the year you referred to above is Wessex's financial year ended 31 March.

For the 5-year regulatory period from FY2011 to FY2015, the allowed return on asset was quite good and inflation was muted, so Wessex's net profit was good around GBP100-150m each year. Then Wessex got a higher allowed return on asset (WACC) for the following 5-year regulatory period from FY2016 to FY2020, that's why profit jumped to GBP164m in FY2016 to reflect the higher return on asset and higher Regulatory Capital Value (RCV). Then net profit dropped gradually in FY2017 to FY2019, which I think was due to higher operating costs and higher provisions for index-linked bonds (ILBs) (because Wessex issued more and more ILBs). The big drop in net profit in FY2020 was partly due to Covid-19 pandemic that drove operating costs much higher and there was an under-recovery of operating cost allowance in the water tariffs (as the base operating cost allowance was set in 2014 for the 5-year regulatory period of FY2015-2020).

Then Wessex got a much lower allowable return on capital (approved WACC of just 2.92% vs company proposal of 3.60%) for the 5-year regulatory period of FY2021 - FY2025. That's why Wessex's net profit dropped to GBP66-67m a year in FY2020 and FY2021. Wessex suffered a loss in FY2022 and FY2023 mainly due to non-cash provisions for ILBs as inflation was running high at 7%-10% which caused a significant jump in the interest expenses of the ILBs.

The good thing is that inflation in the UK is coming down, and hence provisions for ILBs will be lower going forward. If RPI can come down to the long term normal 2% p.a., I estimate that provisions for ILBs may reduce to below GBP25 million a year from GBP71m in FY2023 and estimated GBP67m in FY2024.

As RCV has expanded to GBP4.0 billion as of 31 Mar 2023, and is estimated to expand to GBP4.3 billion by 31 Mar 2024, so the allowed return on capital for FY2025 may be estimated at GBP4.3b x 2.92% = GBP125m, and if inflation does come down to 2% p.a., then provision for ILBs can come down to GBP25m a year, so Wessex's net profit may come to GBP125m - GBP25m = GBP100 million for FY2025.

For the next 5-year regulatory period of FY2026-2030, Wessex's proposed capex plan is much bigger than before, as is the capex plan proposed by all other water companies in the UK due to more stringent regulations on ESG. If approved by Ofwat, Wessex's RCV will expand from GBP4.5b as of 31 Mar 2025 by another GBP3.5b to almost GBP8.0 billion by 2030.

Then, if the approved return on capital is around 3.0% still, then Wessex net profit may jump up to GBP8.0bn x 3.0% = GBP240 million in FY2030.

If the approved return on capital is higher at 3.60% as proposed by the company, Wessex net profit may hit GBP288 million or RM1.73 billion a year (on GBP1.00 = RM6.00) or may top RM2.0 billion if british pounds appreciate to RM7.00 then.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-02-07 23:35 | Report Abuse

@Abcdefg123456789, I think I have answered your question before, and sorry I have no crystal ball and cannot predict any target price until year end. It depends a lot on developments at the company as well as market sentiment.

If market sentiment is good as we have stability in local politics and more and more foreign funds coming in, then YTLP share price may go up faster (within next 6 months) and higher (PER up to 15x).

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-02-07 23:57 | Report Abuse

@Agjl, I do not have a definite answer right now. If YTL Power share price hits RM5.00, most likely I will still hold on as my long term target is much higher than this.

As my entry cost is low at below RM1.00, so a dividend payout of 10-15 sen a year will yield me 15% - 20% on my entry cost, so it will serve as an excellent passive income stream from my invested capital. It is rather hard to find another stock or other investment options that can yield me that much.

For your case, it will depend on your entry cost and your investment goals. If your entry cost is low enough so that the dividend yield can be 7% or higher on your entry cost, then keeping the shares will be a good investment choice. If your entry cost is high, and you can find other investment choice that gives higher yields then you may consider disposing gradually as you switch to the other higher yield options.

I have heard arguments saying that disposing the shares at RM5.00 would give an immediate gain equivalent to many years of dividends. There is certainly merit to such argument, but I would suggest further thoughts to this decision.

Say if you dispose the shares at RM5.00 and put all the money to bank fixed deposits that give you 3% interests a year or put back to EPF that gives dividend yields of 4.2% to 6.9% p.a.
The advantage is that you de-risk on your capital investment, but the disadvantage is that you will no longer enjoy any upside from the company growth and any further capital appreciation of YTLP share price. Who knows, it may continue going up to RM7.00 or RM10.00 or RM15.00 some 10 years later. But your capital in the bank fixed deposit or in EPF remains the same as before.

and who knows the company continues to grow earnings and declare higher dividends every year, from 4% to 8% to 12% some 10 years later on your entry cost. But your passive income from the bank fixed deposits remain at 3% every year and EPF still gives dividends around 6% p.a.

I am a believer in the wealth creation effect from the stock market much better than any other investment options, as statistics already shows that investments in US SP500 in the past 100 years has beaten handsomely investments in bonds or fixed income options.

If you do not believe in that, you should probably not invest in the stock market and put all your money in bank fixed deposits or put cash or gold bar under the bed.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-02-08 00:09 | Report Abuse

@Agjl, my suggestion is that you do review your investment goals and options as the share price goes up, as we do not know when it will touch RM5.00 or if at all.

If another better investment option appears, then it will make your decision easier and you just switch over even if the share price has not reached RM5.00.

If there is no better option, then you just hold on until the share price has gone up so much that it has become over-valued to you and on normal valuation methods, eg. PER becomes higher than 25x.

I think this way is easier, and you don't need to think too much now and can have a good sleep.

When it becomes too over-valued, there will be signs you can notice easily, just like the gloves stocks that hit RM30 in 2021 when the pandemic was coming to an end and you knew that glove companies' earnings would drop drastically to cause the stocks' PER over 30x.

But there was still analyst that gave sky high target price up to RM100, and people from all walks of life without any investment knowledge just jumped into the bandwagon. That was the time to get out when such euphoria happened.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-02-08 00:12 | Report Abuse

Now YTL Power shares are hot but valuation is still cheap at less than 10x PER. And there are still many good news and developments coming in next few months. Even when it hits RM5.00, the PER will be just 11x (based on Hong Leong projected earnings for FY2025).