12 people like this.

2,633 comment(s). Last comment by Windy1974 1 month ago

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-10-13 12:34 | Report Abuse

the simple fact is there are very few companies in bursa that specializes world dominating exports that come from malaysia and can compete with the world stage. Harta is obviously one of those few companies, and I am very happy to go onboard at cheap prices.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-10-18 15:36 | Report Abuse

Started a position in hiaptek thanks to indepth research from otb and Jack yap. Thanks!

Posted by stockraider > 2021-10-19 10:39 | Report Abuse

VERY IMPORTANT!

TO REMEMBER THIS LOH!

"The current of hype of ESG trend which is unsustainable....give a good sound contrarian opportunity for a very strong rebound & upside for plantation going fwd loh!"

PLANTATION THE BEST HEDGE AGAINST INFLATION & DEPRESSION LOH!

jasonred79

1,040 posts

Posted by jasonred79 > 2021-10-21 14:06 | Report Abuse

Edge: "Earlier this year, the Edge weekly had reported that the United States was investigating Malaysian glove makers Hartalega Holdings Bhd and a unit of Supermax Corp over allegations of forced labour."

... weird, since, from what I heard, Hartalega has one of the best treatment of foreign workers among any of the rubber glove companies. ... CBP appears to be on a vendetta against Malaysia lately...

... and if CBP is on a Malaysian Vendetta, then the plantation stocks aren't safe either.

Disclaimer: I have absolutely no idea what the CBP is actually going to do. Same for Serba Dinamik, I have no idea what will result from the investigation. The counters might skyrocket, they might crash, so, IMHO, buying into these counters is high risk high reward

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-10-21 17:15 | Report Abuse

Yes, the riskiest stocks to buy is those that you do not understand

jasonred79

1,040 posts

Posted by jasonred79 > 2021-10-23 16:36 | Report Abuse

you know what they say about knowing just enough to think you are right, when you are actually wrong, lol.

Well that's one problem with Malaysian counters... there's so much goreng and fudging of numbers, who knows what the state of the business actually is.

Or companies with "hidden liabilities" like AA and AAX... you think that they are solid companies which do the simple buusiness of air travel. ... then it turns out that a huge portion of the revenue was from massive contracts to buy airplanes in bulk and then re-sell them at a profit, and then when they couldn't sell them due to covid, it was the contracts with Boeing and such that are killing them.

jasonred79

1,040 posts

Posted by jasonred79 > 2021-10-26 15:07 | Report Abuse

I have to say, I truly respect you for having a transparent portfolio which is publicaly published. ... I don't agree with a lot of your investment decisions, but your transparency is the highest I've ever seen. ... I wanted to emulate that and started a public portfolio, but... after a while I chickened out. I sometimes buy into small cap penny stocks and accidentally got into goreng stocks, and I am worried that making my holdings public will give syndicates ammo to try and flush me out! :(

Will return my portfolio publical once I dispose of these goreng stocks, but, sadly, that just looks bad, where I set it to private whenever I have something to hide and turn it back to public once I want to show off again.

jasonred79

1,040 posts

Posted by jasonred79 > 2021-10-27 12:38 | Report Abuse

Just got some dividends from our family palm oil company. Returns were pretty low... the current situation is, if you don't have enough workers, the high CPO price makes up for the low volume harvested. If you have enough workers, you are going to be making mega profits... Sadly, I can't tell which companies have worker problems and which don't, so I'm not investing into palm oil right now! :(

Congrats Phillip for managing your plantations well!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-10-27 20:29 | Report Abuse

Yes the key thing is workers. Luckily in Sabah I have access to Indonesian and Philippine 3rd generation workers locally. Among the interesting things to look at, innoprise plantations will be declaring a 20% dividend this year at least. Based on cost basis.

And speaking of dividends, I am looking forward to 2 years of uoadev dividend of 8%, my largest holding pchem at cost basis rm6.1 will be looking at a windfall of 50 cents dividends for the year, and I can also look forward to good growth in capital gain.

In fact, in my 2 years of holding pchem I have received a total of 51 cents in dividend. With a company payout policy of 50% of profit, I am definitely happy to buy and hold this amazing company. I am looking forward to when pic becomes fully operational, and I am receiving 61 cents of dividends every year to invest into more stocks every year.

jasonred79

1,040 posts

Posted by jasonred79 > 2021-11-01 20:29 | Report Abuse

Again, respect. Full transparency, the day's paper loss of 1.37m is clearly shown. Phillip also updates his transactions as he does them, so no "hindsight 20/20" like KYY and how he says stuff like "oh, I sold my gloves weeks ago while the price was still high!" ... Phillip has the dates, volumes and prices for his transactions on Serba, And he doesn't delete his comments or say "please disregard all my previous posts" (cough cough KYY)

As I said though, I don't agree with Phillip's actual investment picks though! For me, I won't buy any glove stocks until I feel that glove ASPs are starting to bottom out, and I don't think that time is anywhere near yet. I could be wrong, but that's my theory: "the best time to buy glove stocks will be when glove profits are at their lowest, and glove stocks are at the cheapest"

I feel that's what he did for petchem... he bought it when no one wanted O&G stocks, and got it for dirt cheap. That was brilliant.

sensonic

690 posts

Posted by sensonic > 2021-11-16 09:35 | Report Abuse

NICE 57 MIL PORTFOLIO. I ONLY HAVE 5MIL ,BUT I ONLY 38.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-11-16 18:58 | Report Abuse

Good job. What's are your stock holdings?

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-11-16 19:01 | Report Abuse

Hi Philip, so cool that you'll be receiving RM577,280 dividend cash from Harta!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-11-19 13:32 | Report Abuse

Picked up some rhonema. I think the results are quite good and there is a comparative growth from their joint venture with kulim on getting A2 cow milk production increase supply in the coming year. Will invest and take a look at the longer term progress.

Posted by hariharikais > 2021-11-19 17:58 | Report Abuse

Hi Phillip, whats ur conviction on Harta? Seems to be failing every day.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-11-22 03:50 | Report Abuse

You mean sales or the asp? The conviction is very simple. Even at asp usd25 harta is still guaranteed to make a profit. And if you buy it at a cheap price, it's easy to be paid to wait. In fact, in the next few years now production lines will start to open up for sales, increasing the production capacity coming up .

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 10:51 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600329595.jsp?ftp=5

Finally Philip can sleep well now after sleepless nights for many many months since May /June 2020....

TG is RM2.16...very much lower than his average selling price of RM2.90+

Well done Philip!!

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 10:54 | Report Abuse

I give credit when credit is due.

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 10:56 | Report Abuse

Despite our earlier differences...

4,667 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-12-11 11:04 | Report Abuse

Haha his HARTA is now million in unrealized loss.

Eastern686

510 posts

Posted by Eastern686 > 2021-12-11 11:13 | Report Abuse

Agree agree 500k dividend vs 1.5mil paper loss, cool.

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 11:14 | Report Abuse

Its a fundamental change in the whole supply n demand equilibrium of glove biz with China's presence.

Their supply increases fm 6%+ to 30% within 2 years time....

Some said China's ASP is 30% lower than Msian...i dunno how true it is...if so the gap shall be further reduced in near future.

Its either China's ASP will go up or Msia's price shall come down

Any further drops of ASP (say 10% to 20%) will hv very serious impact to glove co's bottom line (stay profitable).

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-11 11:15 | Report Abuse

Thats how Uncle Philip nearly went bankrupt in Aokam loh!

Lesson not Learn loh!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > Jun 10, 2020 4:00 PM | Report Abuse

Here's how you do it.

Put up 50k of your own money. Then borrow about 50k from friends and family.
Then put it in trading account and get maybank approval to margin of 100k.

Now buy 200k of supermax.

Then, you will notice you have 200k of contra t+2 in your account.

Go ahead and buy more on contra.

You will now open 400k of supermax.

After it goes up by 20%, you would have 480k. Now you can close your position and turn 100k into 180k in a few days. Now repeat again:
180k into 360k into 720k contra, make 20% on that in T+2.

Rinse and repeat until you become a millionaire.

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 11:16 | Report Abuse

Steel biz is on the contrary, the biggest supplier China intends to cut their supply in long run..

That is a fundamental change in steel biz....

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-11 11:19 | Report Abuse

China say cut today loh!

But Tomorrow can say increase mah!

China is very flexible & has the ability that amazes u loh!

Furthermore China have ready steel capacity that can easily mobilize mah!

Lu tau boh ?

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 11:20 | Report Abuse

Possible also...lets c

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 11:21 | Report Abuse

China mari I lari

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 11:24 | Report Abuse

U think everybody will be like Philip 10 years value long term investor dumb dumb hold for at least 10 years meh

Ops I m sorry it seems Philip also changed his investment style lately....buy n sell speculative stocks like Serbak etc very oftenly..

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-11 11:25 | Report Abuse

Could be quietly copycat my trading styles who knows

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-11 11:30 | Report Abuse

Philip is a pundan tallkook fellow loh!

U think he invest for long term like he says meh ?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-12-12 09:52 | Report Abuse

Just look at the long term results of my investment in pchem. It's all transacted and details are posted. My average down cost now at 6+, whole I received 1.7m in dividends. My average cost now has dropped to 17 million, with 6.2 million unrealised gains. My losses in serba is something that I regret, but my long term gains in my portfolio is still better than those who tell people to buy netx.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-12 10:19 | Report Abuse

U use to boast like that with QL, stoneage and serba....why now suddenly sing a different song leh ?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > Dec 12, 2021 9:52 AM | Report Abuse

Just look at the long term results of my investment in pchem. It's all transacted and details are posted. My average down cost now at 6+, whole I received 1.7m in dividends. My average cost now has dropped to 17 million, with 6.2 million unrealised gains. My losses in serba is something that I regret, but my long term gains in my portfolio is still better than those who tell people to buy netx.

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-12 10:41 | Report Abuse

Finally Philip wake up n back to I3...must hv some really nice sleep last few days i guess...Feel good for him.

So Philip intends to buy n hold Harta this round for 10 years trying to copycat his earlier wonderful success story in Topglove???

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-12 10:44 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockraider > Dec 12, 2021 10:19 AM | Report Abuse

U use to boast like that with QL, stoneage and serba....why now suddenly sing a different song leh ?

He tuned down a lot after Glove Party last year...maybe also realise that not all poor investors here are idxxts....

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-12 20:00 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/top-glove-expects-10-qoq-sales-volume-boost-higher-us-sales-stockpiling-2q

The glovemaker's executive director Lim Cheong Guan shared that the ASP for nitrile gloves is now between US$25 to US$30 per 1,000 pieces, while natural rubber gloves’ ASP is around US$24 to US$26.

In 1QFY22, Top Glove’s ASP for nitrile gloves fell 37% quarter-on-quarter (q-o-q) and 57% year-on-year (y-o-y) to US$36 to US$38, while the ASP for natural rubber gloves contracted 28% q-o-q and 41% y-o-y to US$28 to US$30; surgical gloves dropped 11% q-o-q and 40% y-o-y to US$75, while vinyl gloves declined 7% q-o-q and 49% y-o-y to US$20.

Current ASP
Nitrile USD25-USD30
Natural USD24-USD26

Vs

Q1 FT22
Nitrile USD36-USD38
Natural USD28-USD30

Guess how much more TG's profit can drop in next Q?

However, if u believe Harta is not the same as their special medical grade glove is much better and can sell at much higher price then hold yr Harta dumb dumb for another 10 years.

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-12 20:34 | Report Abuse

charles.....leave Philips alone....He make a lot of money last 10 years ....such people rich old men always like that ...except next 10 years not necessary same as last 10 years..............

rich old men think their way is the only way.....nothing new there.......

KYY also has its own way.................

but 2021 surely have not been a good year for rich old men.....including Karim.

at the end of the day, everybody got to find to find a way to Do It My Way................not copy rich old men from different era.

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-12 20:43 | Report Abuse

commentators on stock market.............thousands of them , u tube sifus also plenty ..... as for value investing they all sing same song ..when things go wrong, tell u wait 10 years...............

for 2021, those who stay out of market did best, those who don't even know there is a Bursa did best ....I would think.

so, if u are stuck, there is only one thing left for experts to say..........trust and patience.

but that needs 2022 to be better than 2021...... and where we are in the long term cycles.............................................

popo92

578 posts

Posted by popo92 > 2021-12-19 12:14 | Report Abuse

Philip could be have done a lot better if he just bought s&p 500. Long term horizon the market beats this portfolio hands down

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-12-19 16:01 | Report Abuse

Yes you are right.

Over the same period that I have started to track this portfolio the returns of sp500 is around 77%, while my portfolio had returned 55% over the same period and a 9% return in total dividend over the same investment amount. I have done over 14% worse over 3 years versus sp500, making it around 4+% every year of lower performance.

Did you buy sp500? It is not something I know well.

But one thing is true: I cannot prove this as I did not post any online portfolio since 2009. But there same period since 2009, sp500 only returns 432%, while my investment in QL and topglove and public bank and yinson topped 1000%.

Make of it what you will.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-12-19 16:13 | Report Abuse

But also interestingly enough, how many funds and managers do you know have a 3 years return over this same period during pandemic where they made 15.88% CAGR? Not the sifu and trading guys who tell you how they made big with topglove etc. But those funds that actively manage their own funds and their own stocks with an almost 16% growth every year for 3 years? I would love to meet them. If we went just a few months before, my track record would have been 25.6%, which I think is an ok performance if we do compounding returns.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-19 16:49 | Report Abuse

The most importantly Raider has proven to beat Philip flat over 2 years bet mah!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-12-20 05:36 | Report Abuse

Good for you! Your best achievements in life! But why do you consistently set low expectations in life and constantly beat them?

>>>>>

stockraider The most importantly Raider has proven to beat Philip flat over 2 years bet mah!
19/12/2021 4:49 PM

4,667 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-12-20 08:31 | Report Abuse

Most likely stockraider greatest achivement is to win his bet with Philip and second greatest achivement is winning 2 Myvi on his bet on Netx RI.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-20 11:43 | Report Abuse

My greatest achievement is to know sifu Sslee as a man of great integrity and with very good knowledge mah!

Winning Philip is 2nd loh!

Winning 2 myv is 3rd mah!

Lu tau boh ?

Posted by Sslee > Dec 20, 2021 8:31 AM | Report Abuse

Most likely stockraider greatest achivement is to win his bet with Philip and second greatest achivement is winning 2 Myvi on his bet on Netx RI.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-20 11:45 | Report Abuse

Sslee is the only person here that never con u loh!

The rest they are just ordinary humans mah!

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2021-12-20 11:49 | Report Abuse

Sslee is a great person here.

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2021-12-20 11:51 | Report Abuse

Sslee speaks the truth sincerely for the well being of all.

popo92

578 posts

Posted by popo92 > 2022-01-01 15:20 | Report Abuse

Its not about the genuine of your portfolio that matters, but your stock pick's performance. Your 3 years 14% vs s&p 500 77% is somehow a misleading indicator because of your superb portfolio managing skill, averaging down with margin when they are plunging down and selling them at the high prices. Meanwhile you would get a 77% performance from s&p sitting still doing nothing, the results would be far more superior if you would have done the similar move with your portfolio

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > Dec 19, 2021 4:01 PM | Report Abuse

Yes you are right.

Over the same period that I have started to track this portfolio the returns of sp500 is around 77%, while my portfolio had returned 55% over the same period and a 9% return in total dividend over the same investment amount. I have done over 14% worse over 3 years versus sp500, making it around 4+% every year of lower performance.

Did you buy sp500? It is not something I know well.

But one thing is true: I cannot prove this as I did not post any online portfolio since 2009. But there same period since 2009, sp500 only returns 432%, while my investment in QL and topglove and public bank and yinson topped 1000%.

Make of it what you will.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-01 15:44 | Report Abuse

But that is the point isn't it? If you know the stock will then you will feel the confidence to average down. No one is saying buying index funds and sp500 is not good. Far be it. Even Warren buffet recommends buying and comparing your performance versus sp500.

However the truth is this: do you really believe that over a long period of time sp500 can return you 77% consistently? There are obviously times when sp500 outperforms Berkshire. But over a longer period of time you will find that Berkshire has outperformed sp500.

Right now you have take COVID-19 to say that sp500 is performing very very well without looking at the important things of revenue, earnings, the printing of cash which makes a lot of find managers put an overly large amount of money into the index.

For me as usual there are only a few sp500 stocks which I have bought and I think is worth it. And recently started position in Tesla at 500+, Facebook at 300+, stoneco averaged down to 15+, Roblox at IPO, and palantir averaged at 16+. So far us stocks to us index I have definitely performed better compared to sp500.

As for Bursa. Buy what you know. Although even with that as my criteria I still miss on serba dinamik and George Kent.

But as long as the bad bets are kept small while the big bets work out I think I will be ok.

As for not averaging down, everyone including Warren buffet knows not to spend everything in one go. Always keep some for rainy day. He has 30% set aside for rainy day. I have 20% additional on low cost 3.5% loan on tap for emergencies. I only use it when stocks are selling for major discounts and never to average up

That is real life investing. Not paper portfolios where you just buy and forget.